Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Topics related to wrapped rotary machining in Aspire or VCarve Pro

Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby rdean33422 » Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:47 pm

If you are using Mach3 to control your "A" axis (indexer) then by entering the radius of the material in the "A" box of Rotation Radius on the "Settings" tab all the feed rates work correctly. This also enhances the preview screens in Mach3 so you can actually see the part you are making.
The thing you have to remember to do is manually enter the radius of the material in this box each time you do a project. Since I am getting older I could see a time when I would forget this step and ruin a piece of material or break a bit. I wanted this operation to be automatic when the tool path was loaded into Mach3 so I modified the Vectric post processor and added a Macro to Mach3.

Using "Mach2_3_Wrap_Y2A_ATC_inch.pp" I added some code so Mach3 could read the diameter of the material and named it "Rays Wrap YtoA.pp" and saved it in the post processor folder.

In Mach3 I wrote a macro to read the diameter of the material, divide the diameter by 2 to get the radius, and write this number to the "A" box of Rotation Radius on the "Settings" tab.

Now each time you run a tool path the radius is entered automatically you don't have to remember to do it.

Paste "Rays Wrap YtoA.pp in the postp folder of either V Carve Pro or Aspire.

Paste "M1100.m1s " in "C:\Mach3\macros\mach3mill\" . If you have named your version of Mach3 something different than "mach3mill" then substitute that name in the path above.

I am using the Mach3 version R3.043.066 which I believe is the latest version. The radius compensation feature did not work properly in some of the older versions of Mach3 so get the new version first.

If you want a pp for wrapping X to A or in metric just give a shout.
Happy Wrapping
Ray

(the file extention .m1s is not allowed so after downloading the file M1100.txt change the name to M1100.m1s)
Attachments
Rays Wrap Y to A.pp
(4.46 KiB) Downloaded 225 times
M1100.txt
(188 Bytes) Downloaded 197 times
rdean33422
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: RF31, 4X8 Router both CNC

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby Greolt » Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:29 am

Good example of what can be done with a little PP editing.

It would not suit me because I almost always use the centre of rotation as Z origin.

If you always have Z origin at the circumference, it could be handy.

Thanks for sharing.

Greg
Greolt
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Australia
Model of CNC Machine: 900 x 750 2hp Mach3 Router & others

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby rdean33422 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 1:26 pm

Yes I do my design work in V Carve from the center of the material as recommended and then save the tool path at the circumference.
At my machine I set the Z Zero on the face of the work piece.
Thanks Greolt

Ray
rdean33422
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: RF31, 4X8 Router both CNC

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby kenlyall » Sun Apr 28, 2013 4:26 am

ray changed you pp from imperial to metric

thanks
Attachments
Rays Wrap Y to A MM.pp
(4.51 KiB) Downloaded 141 times
kenlyall
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:50 pm
Location: blenheim
Model of CNC Machine: emco

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby velvetpig » Sun Apr 28, 2013 4:40 am

Thanks kenlyall,
I was just about to ask for a metric version.
I always set Zero to the center line but would like to play with this.
Cheers
velvetpig
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Central Coast, NSW, OZ
Model of CNC Machine: DIY

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby gdb » Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:36 am

What a great job of thinking outside the box.
I would very much like to have a pp for wrapping X to A.

Thank you... :D
Glen
gdb
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Gold Beach, OR. USA
Model of CNC Machine: Home built router Home built 3D printer

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby rdean33422 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:37 pm

Kenlyall good job!

Here is one for X wrapped to A
The Mach3 M1100 file is the same for all.

Thanks for the comments.

Ray
Attachments
Rays Wrap X to A_inch.pp
(4.75 KiB) Downloaded 139 times
rdean33422
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: RF31, 4X8 Router both CNC

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby gdb » Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:54 pm

Thanks Ray, for the X2A pp.
Glen
gdb
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Gold Beach, OR. USA
Model of CNC Machine: Home built router Home built 3D printer

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby Jeff Johnson » Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:14 pm

Thanks Ray. This little tutorial and PP tip has completed my rotary setup. I was lost because I couldn't get my rotary to turn the speeds its should, then I ran across this. If you dont mind I am gonna modify your PP with a delay for my spindle to get up to speed before the file starts running its tool-paths. Thanks again.
Jeff Johnson
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:53 am

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby Fleming » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:01 pm

Rebuilt my indexer and am now trying to fine-tune the setup using Ray Dean's post-processor that automatically loads in the radius correction to Mach3. I have Mach3 ver 2 and the screen reads "Rotation Diameter" at the DRO instead of "Rotation Radius" as talked about by Ray and by Greolt (viewtopic.php?f=38&t=18663). Anyone have any insights as to why the difference?

Many thanks,

Paul
Fleming
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby Fleming » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:43 pm

Found the answer (I Hope) - Version 3 changed the description and I assume the formula - I will upgrade to that version.
Fleming
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: Automatic Wrap feed rate compensation in Mach3

Postby rdean33422 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:45 pm

That is correct.
I will suggest you download and install version 062 of Mach3.
It seems to be the most stable.

Ray
rdean33422
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: RF31, 4X8 Router both CNC


Return to Wrapped Rotary Machining

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests