making 3D model

Discussions and examples relating to the Design & Carve series for Aspire

Moderator: JamesB

making 3D model

Postby cambium » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:18 pm

Hi, I am struggling how to get from an imported file into a 3D model.
I made a test last week with a college but I now miss one important step. When does the 3D window show the model ? Is it only after making toolpaths ?
When I try to make a roughing or finishing TP I get the message : 'The composite model in empty', 'Tou must have a 3D model before attempting to create 3D toolpaths'.
I would appreciate it if anyone who knows how to solve this would reply.
Thanks,
Cambium
IMG_0625.jpeg
cambium
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 8:36 am
Model of CNC Machine: XJ1530ATC

Re: making 3D model

Postby Adrian » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:37 pm

Is that a 3D model? Looks like 2D vectors to me that you would machine with profile and/or pocket toolpaths not the 3D toolpaths. Alternatively if you're trying to make a 3D model from 2D vectors you have to create the shapes first using the 3D modelling tools on the modelling tab.

Have a look at the tutorials at http://support.vectric.com
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: making 3D model

Postby cambium » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:02 pm

Thanks Adrian, you are right it's 2D vectors.
My question is how to move on to the 3D model.
Here is a foto of what it should be.
Attachments
IMG_0626.jpeg
cambium
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 8:36 am
Model of CNC Machine: XJ1530ATC

Re: making 3D model

Postby Adrian » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:24 pm

That's a bit of an involved subject to go through in a forum post. The introduction to 3D modelling tutorial will give you a good grounding in what is required to create a 3D model - http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V8 ... 3DMOD.html
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: making 3D model

Postby cambium » Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:07 pm

Thanks again, I found out that I had to import the 3D file instead of making it. So obvious....
cambium
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 8:36 am
Model of CNC Machine: XJ1530ATC

Re: making 3D model

Postby martin54 » Sat Aug 06, 2016 12:34 am

cambium wrote:Thanks again, I found out that I had to import the 3D file instead of making it. So obvious....


As you are an Aspire user then you could have made the 3d model yourself, Aspire contains modelling tools for that purpose, you just need to know how to use them which can be quite a steep learning curve. That is what I am in the process of doing myself but it will be some time before I am proficient enough to be able to use them properly, until then I will continue to do what I used to do when I was using vcarve pro (which doesn't contain all the modelling tools) & that is to either buy or find free models that I could import :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)


Return to Design & Carve - Aspire

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest