Holes in a perfect surface

Discussions and examples relating to the Design & Carve series for Aspire

Moderator: JamesB

Holes in a perfect surface

Postby JensJensen » Sun Oct 04, 2015 7:17 pm

Hi everybody
This is my first post in this forum . I sits in Denmark and trying to make something on my diy - cnc with Aspire to help. I have a problem with my last model. There are holes in a perfect surface , is there some who know why?

Regardes

Jens

IMG_0027.JPG

IMG_0026.JPG
JensJensen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby JensJensen » Sun Oct 04, 2015 7:22 pm

I have the same problem with the Michelin man , I've tried to do.
michelin man.gif
JensJensen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby dldecker » Mon Oct 05, 2015 2:01 am

looks like the bit you used was to big to get into the crevice so it went so far then quit leaving a hole the size of the bit.
Try running a simulation with a smaller bit and see if they disappear.
Dana Decker
Aspire 8 something
CaMaster Stinger I
dldecker
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Jacksonville. Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby JensJensen » Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:52 am

The first one I showed, there are holes down to the " sun " located in the lower layer, and it was not there when I ran a simulation?
Have I done something wrong when I made the template? , it is made of three parts, with the " crown " on top of " the sun ".
JensJensen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby dldecker » Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:49 am

Sorry your pictures are so small I can't tell much about it.
Dana Decker
Aspire 8 something
CaMaster Stinger I
dldecker
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Jacksonville. Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby Ms Wolffie » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:11 am

Jens Jensen, how Danish is that?
Pity your pictures are so small and also turn sideways, it is impossible to see them clearly.
From another Dane but in Australia.
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SharkPro+HD Heavily modified

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby Ms Wolffie » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:27 am

I have been trying to find that insignia to get a better picture but cannot find it anywhere.
Is it a recognised insignia, if so where in the Danish Navy does it belong?
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SharkPro+HD Heavily modified

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby JensJensen » Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:43 pm

Jens Jensen, Yes it can be more Danish , it's the Royal Danish Guard emblem , with their motto : " Pro Rege A GREGE " - For King and the People
Udklip.JPG
.

I've tried to capture a new image , the slightly larger resolution hope it might help .
2-2015-10-06 22.25.06.jpg
JensJensen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby Adrian » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:30 am

Did those holes happen on the roughing or finishing pass?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7421
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby LittleGreyMan » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:58 am

Hi Jens,

If you don't mind, post the file.

I do not know Mach3, does it include a 3D Gcode visualizer? If yes, do you see these plunges? If you don't see them, it's a machine-Mach3 issue. If they are here and if the simulation is correct, it means it is a postpro- Mach3 issue.

If Mach3 does not include a visualizer, download one or try to find in the Gcode if you see these plunges.

HTH
Best regards

LGM

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Charlyrobot & Mecanumeric

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby JensJensen » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:08 am

On the finishing pass, I did not use Rough, with a 2.mm bn , and as seen in the preview is a smooth surface
Kgl.garde 150X150X10 ø2bn.JPG
, it must be said that it is the first attempt to produce a file, but I'm not sure if it 's done right , among other things , I'm not sure what " baking " does.
JensJensen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby LittleGreyMan » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:18 am

OK, so how does it look in a Gcode visualizer?

What happens when you machine it? Do you let the machine run and these borings do happen in the middle of the toolpath, with the machine going on on the right path after that or do you stop and go to fix things?

You can post the gcode if you don't want to post the original file.

What is the size of this model? Must be very small if you directly use a 2mm ball nose.
Best regards

LGM

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Charlyrobot & Mecanumeric

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby JensJensen » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:30 am

Hi
I produce over 10 from the files that came with Aspire , and there have not been any problems .
No, I only have the simulator as came with Aspire.

Sorry, the file is too large to attach.

Regards Jens

LittleGreyMan wrote:Hi Jens,

If you don't mind, post the file.

I do not know Mach3, does it include a 3D Gcode visualizer? If yes, do you see these plunges? If you don't see them, it's a machine-Mach3 issue. If they are here and if the simulation is correct, it means it is a postpro- Mach3 issue.

If Mach3 does not include a visualizer, download one or try to find in the Gcode if you see these plunges.

HTH
JensJensen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby Ms Wolffie » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:03 pm

JensJensen wrote:Jens Jensen, Yes it can be more Danish , it's the Royal Danish Guard emblem , with their motto : " Pro Rege A GREGE " - For King and the People
Udklip.JPG
.

I've tried to capture a new image , the slightly larger resolution hope it might help .
2-2015-10-06 22.25.06.jpg

Of course, why didn't I recognise that?
My nephew was a Garder musician.
I actually think it is "PRO REGE ET GREGE"
I would like to play a bit with that picture.
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SharkPro+HD Heavily modified

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Postby Ms Wolffie » Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:33 pm

I cannot believe how difficult it is to find these logos.
The only one I found was as small as your first one.
So you are/were in 3rd batallion?
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: SharkPro+HD Heavily modified

Next

Return to Design & Carve - Aspire

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest