Cut2D-K2CNC-Mach 3 NOOB question

Timeboxer

Cut2D-K2CNC-Mach 3 NOOB question

Post by Timeboxer »

I've just started making sawdust with my new router but am running into something that is stumping me. I'm a total Noob so bear with me.

In Cut 2D, I start with a with a block 2.6" x 2.6" x 1.5h". I draw a pocket 2.25" x 2.25"x .5" deep, cutting from the center. (see attached)

I output the gcodes to K2CNC g-code (inch)(.tap), open and run it in Mach3, and end up with a pocket that is only 1.2"x 1.2"x .25 deep. What am I doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bert
Model of CNC Machine: K23925

Re: Cut2D-K2CNC-Mach 3 NOOB question

Post by Bert »

When I first got my K2CNC up and running I tried the K2 post processor on V-Carve, but things just seemed to not go right (it could have been my learning curve). I changed the post to Mach2/3Arcs(inch)(*.txt), a little further down the post list, and things have run much better since then. If you have any more K2 problems please feel free to PM me. I love the machine but the initial set up was challenging.

moto633
Vectric Wizard

Post by moto633 »

You might need to calibrate your settings in Mach. Ask if you don't know how to do this. I might be able to walk you through it.

Nick

Timeboxer

Post by Timeboxer »

Thanks for the input guys ...Bert, I tried saving it out to the Mach2/3 arcs format, and it cut the pocket just a little bigger, but still nowhere near the right size. :(

Nick, if you have any suggestions or links to what might work in in terms of calibrating Mach3, I'm all ears...
Thanks,
Bob

metalworkz
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: SX3 CNC, DIY 24x20 & 48x60 routers

Post by metalworkz »

Hello Bob,