Can the CNCSharkPro use dxf files bought commercially?

Davey

Can the CNCSharkPro use dxf files bought commercially?

Post by Davey »

I am new to the CNC tool. I just purchased the CNCSharkPro and I am totally lost. I bought some files with dxf extensions. I read the literature and visited the Rockler store before I purchased and talked to them. Apparently there support is limited now that I have bought it.. My question is how do I get a .dxf file to load in the 1.4 control program. I can run a gcode file just fine, and the machine performs as expected.
Thanks in Advance.

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Can the CNCSharkPro use dxf files bought commercially?

Post by Adrian »

Usually you would load a DXF file into a program such as Cut2D, VCarve etc and then toolpath it and generate the GCode from there.

Some control software does allow you to go directly from a DXF file but I'm not familiar with the Shark software.

mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Post by mezalick »

I have one as well. The file must be converted into a G Code file first before it can run on the Shark.
Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://www.youtube.com/user/mezalick
mm@mezalick.com

Davey

Post by Davey »

Thank you very much. I know it must seem a simple question. I have Vcarve pro 5.0 that came with the unit.
I just needed a little direction. That cleared the air for me to understand a little bit more, knowing I am on the right path so I can continue with the tutorials on Vcarve pro. The Rockler people told me I could just load the dxf files up.
Thank you, very much
David

wyzarddoc

Post by wyzarddoc »

Hi;