GRBL Settings

GRBL Settings

Postby Lodds » Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:13 am

Hi,

I am new to Vectric software, in fact I'm new to CNC and am experiencing difficulties getting up and running.

I have followed along with "Two_Sided_Machining" tutorials and this seems to send my machine into an eating frenzy where the bit munches through my work piece through the spoil board and starts on the base board. I have saved the Tool Path to a variety of different formats to see if this was the issue and the problem still remains.

My setup is as follows
Windows 10
XPro V3 board
UGCS ver 2.0
VCarve Desktop and Cut2D
I use GRBL (inch) for the PP as there is no specific PP for my board.

I have replaced the XPro V3 board with another XPro V3. Replaced the USB cable, created the Tool Path on 2 different machines.

My GRBL settings are these
$0 = 10 (Step pulse time, microseconds)
$1 = 255 (Step idle delay, milliseconds)
$2 = 0 (Step pulse invert, mask)
$3 = 6 (Step direction invert, mask)
$4 = 1 (Invert step enable pin, boolean)
$5 = 0 (Invert limit pins, boolean)
$6 = 0 (Invert probe pin, boolean)
$10 = 1 (Status report options, mask)
$11 = 0.020 (Junction deviation, millimeters)
$12 = 0.002 (Arc tolerance, millimeters)
$13 = 0 (Report in inches, boolean)
$20 = 0 (Soft limits enable, boolean)
$21 = 0 (Hard limits enable, boolean)
$22 = 0 (Homing cycle enable, boolean)
$23 = 0 (Homing direction invert, mask)
$24 = 2000.000 (Homing locate feed rate, mm/min)
$25 = 1000.000 (Homing search seek rate, mm/min)
$26 = 250 (Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds)
$27 = 1.000 (Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters)
$30 = 20000 (Maximum spindle speed, RPM)
$31 = 0 (Minimum spindle speed, RPM)
$32 = 0 (Laser-mode enable, boolean)
$100 = 200.000 (X-axis travel resolution, step/mm)
$101 = 200.000 (Y-axis travel resolution, step/mm)
$102 = 200.000 (Z-axis travel resolution, step/mm)
$110 = 2000.000 (X-axis maximum rate, mm/min)
$111 = 2000.000 (Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min)
$112 = 2000.000 (Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min)
$120 = 100.000 (X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2)
$121 = 100.000 (Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2)
$122 = 100.000 (Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2)
$130 = 270.000 (X-axis maximum travel, millimeters)
$131 = 270.000 (Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters)
$132 = 80.000 (Z-axis maximum travel, milliimeters)

Would appreciate your thoughts on this.
Lodds
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: C-Beam OpenBuild

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby Adrian » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:30 am

With a new machine and you being new to the software there are many different reasons why this could be happening.

One constructive piece of advice I can offer is to try the X-Carve post processor instead of the GRBL one. I know some people have found that works with UGCS.

If that doesn't work:-

Have you tested the machine directly by telling it to move set distances in all three axis and then measure that it has done so? Is the Z configured correctly with minus moves going down and positive moves going up?

Does the preview in VCarve do what you expect? Are you setting the z-zero to the same spot (material/table surface) in VCarve and your machine? Do you have the machine set to inches as well?

There are many more potential problem areas other than those. They key is to eliminate as many steps as possible keeping the process as simple as possible and add a step at a time back in until you find the issue.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8222
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby ElevationCreations » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:24 pm

Make sure your machine settings is set for inch, not mm and you are using inch pp for both sides, not one side inch and one side mm. You can design in inch and use the mm post processor for the g-code toolpath.

Visit the GRBL wiki on GitHub, there’s a wealth of information depending upon which version you are running.
ElevationCreations
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:29 am
Location: Colorado
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko SO3 XXL & SO3

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby wmgeorge » Sat Dec 23, 2017 1:28 am

I experimented with GRBL and a Arduino board to control a diode laser engraving project. Enough to find out its great for a classroom or learning but its not ready for the Real world. There were always changes in the works, the controllers including the board picked up so much RFI and EMI they faulted all the time.

Dump it and go with Mach3 or similar control systems, a breakout board and use your existing steppers and drivers. Yes someone will come on and say it works fine for me!! I have been involved in electrical and controls since 1962, it all depends if you want to really get something done or just keep playing. Windows 10 is not great for CNC controls, unless you know how to disable all the power saving, screen savers and the like. That goes with any Windows system of course.
wmgeorge
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 6040 CNC Router on Mach3- UC400ETH

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby wmgeorge » Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:22 am

Delete
Last edited by wmgeorge on Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
wmgeorge
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 6040 CNC Router on Mach3- UC400ETH

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby wmgeorge » Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:24 am

Deleted
wmgeorge
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 6040 CNC Router on Mach3- UC400ETH

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby wmgeorge » Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:26 am

wmgeorge wrote:
wmgeorge wrote:I experimented with GRBL and a Arduino board to control a diode laser engraving project. Enough to find out its great for a classroom or learning but its not ready for the Real world. There were always changes in the works, the controllers including the board picked up so much RFI and EMI they faulted all the time.
. Windows 10 is not great for CNC controls, unless you know how to disable all the power saving, screen savers and the like. But That goes with any Windows system of course.
wmgeorge
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 6040 CNC Router on Mach3- UC400ETH

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby wmgeorge » Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:27 am

Can not Delete
wmgeorge
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 6040 CNC Router on Mach3- UC400ETH

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby wmgeorge » Sat Dec 23, 2017 1:29 pm

So there is no way to Cancel a Post or Edit once its posted??

My other tried to delete posts were a failed attempt to modify my somewhat harsh reply to the OP, Sorry. Once a post is started there is No way to Cancel? Those were done on a s l o w connection with my Apple Ipad.
wmgeorge
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 6040 CNC Router on Mach3- UC400ETH

Re: GRBL Settings

Postby Adrian » Sat Dec 23, 2017 1:59 pm

There is a period of time ( I think 20 minutes) where you can edit or delete a post but after that it's fixed. If there is another post in the same thread made in that period then I'm pretty sure that you can only edit at that point and not delete.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8222
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests