Anyone Use Wincnc?

Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby usLEDsupply » Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:27 am

We are looking at getting a Shopsabre IS 510 and they say is uses WinCNC but i have only ever used Mach 3 and don't see many options or plugins
so do any of you use it? how do you like it
is there a way to adjust the feed rate speed on the fly?
or use a wireless play station/xbox controller to move the head around the best thing ever (i may have found a way to do this)
or even a webcam for positioning?
if seems like these would be pretty common things but i can't find much on youtube so i am wondering if anyone knows?
anyway if you have used it or even a Shopsabre i would love to hear what you think
usLEDsupply
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:28 am
Location: Mercer, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Digital Tool CNC Router + Speedy 400 120

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby 4DThinker » Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:53 am

I haven't used it, but they have plenty of info about winCNC here: http://www.wincnc.net/.

One screenshot I saw appeared to have a slide that could have been to adjust feed speed on the fly.
They also have screenshots of it set of for laser cutters and plasma cutters. My guess is that it is configurable much like Mach3 and LinuxCNC.
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby Tundraman » Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:20 am

usLED,
About 8 years ago I visited the Shopsabre factory, was very impressed. We nearly bought a machine from them for a business we were going to start, but that never worked out. It was down to them and Camaster.

I have never used Wincnc, however that is also what Camaster uses. There are a large number of users on this forum that have Camasters and a number with Shopsabres.

My understanding it is among the best control software in use today. Based on information I have read, all of the things you want to do are possible with Wincnc.

You could go the Camaster forum and do some reading as well as ask for an opinion of the Wincnc there or check the CNC zone forum.

Good luck,
Scott
Tundraman
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:37 am
Model of CNC Machine: Techno Isel 3'x4' Gantry III

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby IslaWW » Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:49 am

usLED...
I have 2 current machines running WinCNC and have owned 5 total. Very good and stable with the highest number of useable features available, especially for commercial users. There are so many built in features, I don't think there is a need for plugins. Do you have something in particular in mind?

Yes, you can adjust both feedrate and spindle speed on the fly.

They offer 2 pendant type controllers. One is a wired serial cable that is very programmable. The other is Bluetooth wireless that gives you access to all the screen features and buttons and has an mpg jog wheel. Also has display of machine and user coordinates. Multi level programmable to your needs.

I have used a webcam for positioning and diagnostics, but not on a day to day basis. WinCNC has an Opti-Scout option that will located registration marks and even stretch/skew the cut to match positioning of the graphics. Also cut DXF with cutter comp.

One of the best "pros' to WinCNC is their branded I/O products. They can provide OEM matching, opto isolated, top of the line breakouts with up to 30 inputs and 20 outputs. 6 channels of simultaneous motion approaching 100Kbits/sec to allow high resolution encoders. The best I've seen in PC control.

Disclaimer: I do not work for WinCNC, but I do buy their products, along with those from other control providers, as I retrofit CNC machine control for a living.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby larrybadgett » Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:33 am

Have a ShopSabre running on WinCNC for over ten years. Very reliable and stable. ShopSabre has always been there for help when needed.
Woodchip
Wud Bi Tek
http://wudbitek.com/
User avatar
larrybadgett
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Corning, Iowa USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby mezalick » Fri Jul 21, 2017 11:02 am

I use it,,,almost 9 years....
No complaints.


Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2226
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby usLEDsupply » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:39 pm

Thanks Guys i was worried but it sounds like it should be fine

IslaWW I have used a webcam for positioning and diagnostics, but not on a day to day basis. WinCNC has an Opti-Scout option that will located registration marks and even stretch/skew the cut to match positioning of the graphics. Also cut DXF with cutter comp
did you have to do anything special to get the web cam to work with it or was it plug and play?
usLEDsupply
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:28 am
Location: Mercer, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Digital Tool CNC Router + Speedy 400 120

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby IslaWW » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:58 pm

us...
Not to worry. WinCNC is the "gold standard" for PC based control. Once you use it you will be hard pressed to revert back to anything else.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Anyone Use Wincnc?

Postby IslaWW » Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:51 pm

I have received a number of emails regarding the I/O board I spoke of above. This is the "mac daddy" of I/O or breakout boards
Inputs are self sensing 5-24vdc, high or low. 30 of them with led for active state. 20 outputs, 14 with SPDT mechanical relays, 6 solid state.

All I/O is fully buffered and opto isolated and board has onboard 5VDC power supply (2A) A good number of feature or function set by onboard jumpers Dedicated ESTOP circuit. 100-240vac power requirement

Pic below is an ATC setup in progress, on my assembly bench.
Attachments
DSC00411.JPG
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests