Axiom question

Axiom question

Postby Larry Stobbs » Tue Jan 31, 2017 12:46 am

I see that the Axiom machines come with a pendent controller, does it come with control software loaded or do you have to purchase an additional software program to get it to run? If you have to buy software for this what would be a good choice?
Larry Stobbs
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 2:00 am
Location: St. Joseph, Missouri
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Re: Axiom question

Postby Leo » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:05 am

DO NOT take what I say here as gospel. I am truly not positive.

I did look at the Axiom website and looked at the lowest end machine and at the highest end machine.

On the highest end - it looks like the controller is a HUST CNC controller. I have never heard of it before, but that doesn't mean much as there are many controllers out there that I have never heard of.

http://www.axiomprecision.com/elite/eli ... l?___SID=U
http://www.hust.com.tw/en/

----------------------------------------------------


On the lowest end it appears that the hand held device IS the controller
http://www.ricocnc.com/products/150-Ric ... outer.html

It is a RICOCNC controller. Again never heard of it, and again that don't mean much.

http://www.axiomprecision.com/hobby/hob ... l?___SID=U
http://www.axiomprecision.com/media/axiom-manual.pdf


Other than this - I have no knowledge of this machine.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Axiom question

Postby ger21 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:22 am

Leo is correct. The pendants are what controls the machine. No PC, and hence no software.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Axiom question

Postby Larry Stobbs » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:09 am

I did call them today and they said the units I was looking at use a Richauto A-11 controller, any of you folks ever use one before. My only experience is with one of the old white CNC Sharks that had the controller loaded onto a laptop computer, is this type of pendent easy to operate? Does anyone know were I might be able to see a operating manual for this so I can see what I am looking at using? I don't want to buy a new machine and then find out its too complicated to get it to work using nothing but the pendent.
Larry Stobbs
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 2:00 am
Location: St. Joseph, Missouri
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark

Re: Axiom question

Postby ger21 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:52 pm

Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Axiom question

Postby cws » Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:46 pm

I have had an Axiom Pro 6 for over a year now. Bought one of the first ones sold. The pendent works fine and the only software you need is V-Carve or whatever you are going to use. One of the designers of the machine is owner of WOODWERKS in Columbus, Ohio. Very good people to deal with and very good support. If have anyt questions that I may be able to help you with just ask.
cws
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:11 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro

Re: Axiom question

Postby wateague » Wed May 09, 2018 12:02 am

I also own a Shark HD with extended table that uses a laptop to control my machine.
I ran a sign on the Shark the day after I got it together.
On my Axiom Precision Elite AR8,with HUST 4 Axis controller and a week of spare time,
The Axiom manual has not helped, all the Utube have a very simple controller that doesn’t relate to my machine.
Wish I could find a manual that explained why I can’t load a file and run.
wateague
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:04 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Model of CNC Machine: 1. Shark HD 2. Axiom Elite

Re: Axiom question

Postby gkas » Wed May 09, 2018 2:56 am

On the Axiom Forum:

How do I start my new AR8 Elite Precision with HUST controll

http://axiomprecision.proboards.com/thread/661/start-elite-precision-hust-controll
gkas
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Location: Southern California
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8 Pro+

Re: Axiom question

Postby Greolt » Wed May 09, 2018 11:58 pm

Just for interest,

Axiom CNC machines that are sold in Europe and Australia are supplied with UCCNC control software.

Not the DSP mentioned above. I believe the DSP may still be an option if requested.
Greolt
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Australia
Model of CNC Machine: 900 x 750 2hp Mach3 Router & others

Re: Axiom question

Postby wateague » Sun May 13, 2018 2:01 pm

New Problems
Thanks for the help one first question. It works
I was able to resurface my table but had several problems because I ran out of limits because my limit switch didn’t allow me to fully clean table. The profile tool path on the line at 610 mm was also out of limit. I finally used a file to clean up the 1210 mm at the back.
I did complete a simple sign on a piece of scrap plywood, so I am ready to install my Laser.that came with the machine.
The Laser Manual shipped doesn’t have instructions for my controller.
I will need the required information for the HUST, controller with 4th axis
I tried to get to the spindle controll but could not figure it out.
The instructions seem so easy with the controller in the manual and it might be with mine if I only knew how.
wateague
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:04 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Model of CNC Machine: 1. Shark HD 2. Axiom Elite


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests