Issue WinPc - toolpaths and result

Issue WinPc - toolpaths and result

Postby bart@caminos » Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:58 pm

Hello,

I've got an issue with my G-code.

I've designed a job in V-Carve desktop and exported code in WinPc-NC ATC Arcs mm :
Problem 2.2_Vcarve.png


When I load the file into WinPC-NC it also looks perfect, basically a normal representation of the toolpaths.
Problem 2.3_Winpc USB.png


However when milling the part there is a big issue with the tool path
Before closing the first loop the tool goes back and goes off to do it's own thing.
Problem 2.1_1.png


What I find strange is that the toolpaths are loaded into the WinPc program and displayed in a correct way.

Any suggestions what I did wrong ?

Thanks,
Bart
Attachments
Plankje tools ER11_Frezen_OK.nc.zip
Toolpaths compressed
(646.45 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Plankje tools ER11_Frezen.crv.zip
Design in V-Carve
(1.28 MiB) Downloaded 26 times
bart@caminos
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft 2_840_HF_VCdesktop_WinPC_usb

Re: Issue WinPc - toolpaths and result

Postby Adrian » Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:22 pm

I ran the toolpaths in a simulator and it all works as expected so it looks like a physical problem rather than anything wrong with your toolpaths to me. For some reason it's lost position on the long axis. Is there any binding etc? Any interruptions at that point in the cut?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7403
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Issue WinPc - toolpaths and result

Postby bart@caminos » Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:53 pm

Hey Adrian,

Thanks for the reply.

No everything runs freely at that point.

So according to you it might be a physical problem.
I'll run the last toolpath solo to see if something happens again.
bart@caminos
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft 2_840_HF_VCdesktop_WinPC_usb

Re: Issue WinPc - toolpaths and result

Postby adze_cnc » Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:06 pm

My thought is that the "Profile 6mm_2F" toolpath is trying to spiral down to the pass depth over a very long distance. Perhaps your machine's control software has problems with that?

I'd change the "Ramps" entry from "Type" Spiral to "Type" Smooth or Zig Zag with a generous but not overly long distance just to see if the spiral is the culprit.

Steven
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Issue WinPc - toolpaths and result

Postby bart@caminos » Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:32 pm

Hey Steven,

Thanks for the reply.

That might be a part of the problem.
Yesterday I was milling foam and experimented with the "Ramps" entry from and the spiral does behave completely different than the other settings also time wise.

Some more experimenting ....
bart@caminos
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Model of CNC Machine: Stepcraft 2_840_HF_VCdesktop_WinPC_usb


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davewierenga and 2 guests