Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby WaltS » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:03 am

Yesterday things worked fine. Today, not. I tried to cut a toolpath after I had gotten a new bit. I entered the bit in the DB just like others. Saved the toolpath just like others. The material setup is at 0,0 datum. The preview shows it perfectly. The actual piece, not. I had cut this exact same toolpath before, with a different bit, no problem.

1. The spindle did not turn on - it was turned on at the machine, but when I ran the cut it did not come on. I didn't know it because of the dust boot and vac noise until after. Note - the spindle came on and ran fine during the warmup routine just before.

2. The 0,0 points were not the same. Software was at bottom left corner. What actually happened looked like something, either software or machine, thought X,0 was in the middle.

3. I had X,Y zeroed the machine to the bottom left corner before running the cut.

4. The red diagonal line in the preview is because I have my machine set to return to the middle of the cutting area, and that's also where it starts.

Pics and cut file attached. Baffled.
Attachments
nspreview.JPG
nsbad.jpg
V-Carve NS 60 1-4 010 tip Ons.txt
(213.15 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
User avatar
WaltS
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:44 pm
Location: Virginia USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot DT - Spindle - ScottP Delux SBrd

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby Turtle49 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:26 am

If the preview shows fine in Vcarve, the issue typically will be in your machine or control software.
Tim Hornshaw
www.HornshawWoodWorks.com
User avatar
Turtle49
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:11 pm
Location: Holland, MI. U.S.A
Model of CNC Machine: 4' EZ-Router and Blurry customs SK25

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby 4DThinker » Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:11 am

Triple check that you used the correct post processor.
4DThinker
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark Pro

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby Rcnewcomb » Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:59 am

The code you posted uses a custom command C6 to turn on the spindle. Is that custom command set up in your ShopBot control software? Otherwise you may need to select a different post processor
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby garylmast » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:42 pm

Every once in a while my machine will do the same thing. I unplug it from the power, then have to type M3S18000 in the input line (I'm using Mach 3), which starts the spindle, which usually solves the problem. I haven't figured why it does it, but a least I know how to fix it. Gary
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby WaltS » Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:39 pm

It is the Shopbot version of VCP, there is only the Shopbot post processor to choose from. I have made no modifications to it.
User avatar
WaltS
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:44 pm
Location: Virginia USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot DT - Spindle - ScottP Delux SBrd

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby scottp55 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:44 pm

Try an aircut today doing everything the same.
Is DC hose grounded with bare braided copper wire all the way back to a decent ground at the vac with none of it touching the Desktop? Static season.
Make sure you've taken the USB out and cleaned.
Has your packet ET changed? Should be below 20.
If none of the above, shut EVERYTHING down and unplug for about 20 minutes, boot back up, and in SB3 run a UR from command line/ then a UI/ then type VN and make sure your limit switches are still on.
Is DC hose bumping against the spindle power cord?
That's all I can think of.
Good luck Walt!
scott
User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP9

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby WaltS » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:34 pm

ShopBot support came through quickly with the answer. It had to do with the tool number (35) I had used. Complete answer here for other SB owners:

http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/showth ... post194560
User avatar
WaltS
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:44 pm
Location: Virginia USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot DT - Spindle - ScottP Delux SBrd

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby IslaWW » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:09 pm

Walt...
Sorry.. I am not ShopBot support, but I was fortunate enough to be able to assist the ShopBot R & D group back in 2009 in writing and testing the code for their MTC system. Call me an experienced user, not factory support.

I wrote a 2 part article regarding ShopBot's Virtual Toolchanger on the ShopBot Blog in 2009. Here is a link to part 1: http://www.shopbotblog.com/2009/06/the- ... olchanger/
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby WaltS » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:20 pm

Thanks Gary. I had no idea that the tool numbers meant anything except to a tool changer, which I don't have, so I didn't worry about it. The reason I was numbering my bits was so when the prompt comes up "is tool # such and such installed" I could glance at my bit holder and confirm I had the correct bit in the machine. But being I have more than 19 bits that idea won't work now, from what I just learned. And yes, per your other post, it was "operator error", not machine or software. There's a lot I don't know, and never will know.

Thanks for the link. All that is way over my head, but was interesting reading none the less.
User avatar
WaltS
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:44 pm
Location: Virginia USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot DT - Spindle - ScottP Delux SBrd

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby martin54 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:54 am

There's a lot I don't know, and never will know

That's true for a lot of us Walt but on the bright side you know more now than you did a couple of days ago so your heading in the right direction :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby Adrian » Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:26 am

I rewrote the MTC routines in my ShopBot software a few years ago to get rid of that limitation. Not sure why they still have that fixed as it's not something that would really apply to most people using manual tool changing routines and should be optional.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby WaltS » Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:03 pm

Adrian, would you be willing to share how you did that? I don't need to go messing in there without some good guidance.

Martin, you are correct. If I don't learn something new everyday I'm a little unhappy.
User avatar
WaltS
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:44 pm
Location: Virginia USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot DT - Spindle - ScottP Delux SBrd

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby Adrian » Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:28 pm

PM sent
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Major Issue - Software or Machine?

Postby WaltS » Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:08 pm

Thank you so much Adrian!
User avatar
WaltS
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:44 pm
Location: Virginia USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot DT - Spindle - ScottP Delux SBrd


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests