losing steps

losing steps

Postby Mikie505 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:40 pm

I need HELP!!!
I am running Mach3 on my DIY machine and after talking with them many time we can't seem to find out what the problems is. I have checked everything for tightness and all my connections. I run a program and at different points the machine makes wrong cuts. I have checked the motor tuning, controllers, ball screws and all that stuff still no answer. The guy at Mach3 said go to Vectric Forum and ask if there is anything in the software that will you to do "fitted curves or something like that". I am at a dead point......Please HELP!!
Mike
Mikie505
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:08 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY CNC Router

Re: losing steps

Postby ger21 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:50 pm

First, post a pic of what's happening, and the specs on all the components your using, and even a pic of the machine.

Generally, lost steps, are due to trying to run the machine faster than it's capable of moving. But, they can also be caused by a variety of things. Software would be last on that list.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: losing steps

Postby Leo » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:56 pm

Rapid changes in direction could do it also. Like in Z moves where the Z moves up to reposition then back down to the workpiece. Acel and Decel can help with that.

BUT - that's just a generalization.

You need to tell us more detail.

Pictures help a lot.

A youtube video is even better.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: losing steps

Postby armbrusterco » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:43 am

A good grounding system for your machine, controller, dust collection, etc. often solves issues that are puzzling and intermittent.
Bob Armbruster
www.ArmbrusterCo.com
armbrusterco
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Lake Barrington, IL
Model of CNC Machine: Roland MDX-40A

Re: losing steps

Postby AlbertaClipper » Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:21 pm

Are you using the correct Post Processor?
AlbertaClipper
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:47 am
Location: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built

Re: losing steps

Postby martin54 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:18 pm

As Ger21 & Leo have said you need to provide a lot more detail & some pictures, there are so many different factors to take into account anyone trying to help without any more detail is just guessing. Have you posted on the mach3 forum about this or speaking to someone on the phone/email ? The mach forum is a helpful place but they are going to ask for the same sort of detail people on here are asking for :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests