feed rate different - arcs and straights

sseale
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: Probotix Nebula

feed rate different - arcs and straights

Post by sseale »

I'm new to cnc and control software operations.
I was cutting a lettered sign in 1" thick pvc trim board and noticed how much faster the straight line cuts (like H and A)were being made compared to the curved letters (like O).
The feed rate was set to 100IPM in the tool setup, and based on the bit size/type, chipload, material being cut, cut depth/width etc...
The large feed speed reduction observed on the curved edges could be a problem for a less forgiving material where overheating and chip re-welding may occur.
The post processor I select in Aspire is LinuxCNC arcs (inch), and this is for output to a Probotix Nebula machine.
I'm trying to understand where the reduction is applied, why, and does the user have any control over this?
Thanks,
Scott

scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP11.5

Re: feed rate different - arcs and straights

Post by scottp55 »

What's the Probotix OS? Mach 3?
I've learned my lesson well. You can't please everyone,so you have to please yourself
R.N.

sseale
Vectric Apprentice

Post by sseale »

It's LinuxCNC ver 2.5

JoeM
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Shop-Made Router

Post by JoeM »

It's normal. If you google something like "cnc slows down on arcs" (without the quotes") you'll probably find a few thousand explanations they "why" of it, ranging in level from "CNC for Dummies" to "PHD in Quantum Physics Machining"
Basically you can get speed or accuracy but not always both. You can't expect the machine to make a turn where it's constantly adjusting x and y at the same time, and still go as fast as on a straight run, just like you can't expect a NASCAR driver to go 200mph on the straight runs, and 200mph on the curves and not end up driving off the track into the stands.