First try at 3D cuts

Gilrock
Model of CNC Machine: CNCRouterParts PRO CNC, Nema 34, Mach 3

First try at 3D cuts

Post by Gilrock »

I'm brand new to using a CNC router. I bought and assembled the 4'x4' CNC Pro machine from cncrouterparts and I bought the prewired Nema 34 electronics. I'm using configuration files for Mach 3 that were provided by the company. I initially had an issue with the Z travel being 2.4:1 but that turned out to be their config file wasn't updated for the ball screw version of the Z axis. So they gave me the new value and I verified it with a dial gauge. I've had no problem doing 2D cuts. I've cutout several gear parts for a wooden clock I've been wanting to make. But I tried starting on the Gingerbread house project from vectric's free project area and the detail doesn't look right on the first pieceI tried to cut. I'm using Aspire to create the toolpaths. If I had to describe the result I'd say it looks like what you'd see if you did a gaussian blur over the image.

Most of the details don't look like they have the depth I see in the photos of the example project. It looks like edges get rounded over like the y axis starts moving before the z axis completes the move. The electronics I bought have a smooth stepper board pre-installed by the way. I'm mainly talking about the finishing pass also. I did the roughing pass with a 1/4" down-cut EM bit and the finishing pass is a 1/8" round-nose bit. I had already slowed down the toolpath from the example file because they had it originally at like 3"/sec which seemed really fast. I think I cut that in half. After not liking that result I tried doing another one slowing it down even more but I had a different failure very early in the cut where the Z axis looked like it didn't retract all the way and started cutting deeper than it should. But that didn't happen the first time since the baseline depth appeared good across the part.