Mach 3 question

Mach 3 question

Postby T.R.MacMunn » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:50 pm

Someone told me there are some Mach3 gurus on here.
Can I switch from Exact Stop to Constant Velocity in the middle of a cut?
I'm routing a bitmap ( excruciatingly slow) but there's raised lettering in the middle & I know "constant velocity " is going to round off corner or two.
I can sandblast a square foot every minute but I'm around 4 hours per sq.' routing it.
I don't care to just do a clean-up profile because I want to fool people into thinking it's cedar.

Thanks
User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby Greolt » Tue Apr 23, 2013 12:26 pm

Program G61 to put the machining system into exact stop mode, or G64 for constant velocity mode.

Greolt
Greolt
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Australia
Model of CNC Machine: 900 x 750 2hp Mach3 Router & others

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby T.R.MacMunn » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:44 pm

Thanks Greolt.
There are some options on Constant Velocity that I never noticed before. I made some adjustments there & ( insert Snoopy dance here) I'm a very happy camper.
7hrs & 16min down to 31 minutes. Yabbadabbadoo!
User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby jimwill2 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:32 pm

Rodger, that's what we want... Happy Campers!!! Had a great time in Columbia at McGrew's!
Jim Williams
jimwill2
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:48 am
Location: Superior, Colorado
Model of CNC Machine: CaMaster Stinger w/recoil, FTC

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby fretsman68 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:58 pm

T.R.MacMunn wrote:Thanks Greolt.
There are some options on Constant Velocity that I never noticed before. I made some adjustments there & ( insert Snoopy dance here) I'm a very happy camper.
7hrs & 16min down to 31 minutes. Yabbadabbadoo!


Can you please share what you did so that we may learn as well?

That's quite a substantial difference so I'd love to see the job and how and what you adjusted to get that.

Thanks!
Dave
--------------
Dave
User avatar
fretsman68
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:16 pm
Location: Pa. USA

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby T.R.MacMunn » Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:37 pm

In Mach 3, open Config, then the General Config box. Check "constant velocity" . In the lower right, there's a box CV Control.

I set CV Distance Tolerance at 100 units ...... I have no idea what a unit is.
I set Stop CV on angles over.... to 35.

Worked spiffy, although the bit caught corners on the raised lettering, but only on square corners. I think this will just require fine tuning.
When I get a chance, I'm going to make a new file, much smaller, to try different options on.

BTW, the smaller stepover added an hour to my time on the 2nd sample, but it's still one fifth the time of doing it in exact stop.
User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby fretsman68 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:33 pm

Interesting, so basically this is a trial and error type of thing, and more to the point, it's very machine and type of work specific, correct?

In other words, depending on the job, you would tweak these settings to get the optimal result? It would not just remain at a certain setting for all jobs/machines?

Thanks again-
Dave
--------------
Dave
User avatar
fretsman68
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:16 pm
Location: Pa. USA

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby T.R.MacMunn » Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:29 pm

Dave, I'm hoping to find a "sweet spot", although just knowing what each adjustment will do is a good thing.
It's like stepover ....... you don't always want the same.
User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby fretsman68 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:36 pm

Understood, and thanks for your time- :D

Dave
--------------
Dave
User avatar
fretsman68
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:16 pm
Location: Pa. USA

Re: Mach 3 question

Postby kak » Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:10 pm

kak
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:17 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY CNC


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests