windows 7

windows 7

Postby bluridg » Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:49 pm

recently upgraded my computer to a dedicated cnc computer. now using windows 7. several times when running a program, everything stopped. movement, router, movement on mach screen. reset button is flashing and red light on the gecko is on. anyone else had similar problems? could it be windows 7? any ideas? ted
bluridg
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:35 pm

Re: windows 7

Postby Adrian » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:08 pm

Have you disabled power saving features such as hard disk shutdown, usb disconnect, cpu slowdown etc?

Also worth checking that you don't have any automatic update processes working in the background.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9806
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: windows 7

Postby mike1966 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:40 am

Could be that the computer needs to be grounded to the machine, not jut the electrical ground.
My cnc machine was stopping every few minutes and it was a loose ground between the control box and computer
mike1966
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:35 am
Model of CNC Machine: shopmade 5axis

Re: windows 7

Postby zeeway » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:29 am

mike1966 wrote:Could be that the computer needs to be grounded to the machine, not jut the electrical ground.
My cnc machine was stopping every few minutes and it was a loose ground between the control box and computer


Amen to that. Was a problem for me also. But also make sure you take out all possible windows interrupts (program updates, etc.). Windows 7 works well for me.

Angie
User avatar
zeeway
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:24 pm
Location: SC, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Self-built

Re: windows 7

Postby bluridg » Fri Mar 29, 2013 12:51 pm

I am using the printer cable. thought it had grounds built in been running 2 1/2 yrs without grounding ted
bluridg
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:35 pm

Re: windows 7

Postby bluridg » Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:27 am

evidently problem was caused by limit switches settings, although they hadn't been changed in two years. disengaged them and no more problems. now to find why. thanks everyone. will post what I find. ted
bluridg
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:35 pm


Return to Control Software related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests