Time for a bigger monitor

Time for a bigger monitor

Postby ChrisInEstes » Tue May 23, 2017 12:14 am

I've been using a Dell UltraSharp 24 incher... It's a good one, I just want a larger size.

I'm thinking a 32 inch 1560 x 1440 res should do it. It has the same pixel size, but lots more area. I'm leaning towards a BenQ BL3200PT - $440 on Amazon, or maybe the newer version of it... BenQ BL3200PT - $499 on Amazon.

Does anybody here use a 1560 x 1440 32" monitor? What do you have? Do you like it?

Thanks!
Chris
Aspire 8.5 - PhotoVCarve - FlexiEXPERT 11
User avatar
ChrisInEstes
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Estes Park, Colorado, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Vytek 4' X 8' - Perske Spindle - Mach3

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby Rcnewcomb » Tue May 23, 2017 1:14 am

1560 x 1440

Do you mean 2560 x 1440?

I have the Apple 27" display.

I'm a big fan of multiple monitors. I consider 2 smaller monitors more flexible than 1 large monitor.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby IslaWW » Tue May 23, 2017 3:41 am

Chris...
I am with Randall on this one. I use dual 22" (1920 x 1080) Drawing screen on one, all the tabs on the other
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby Adrian » Tue May 23, 2017 8:27 am

Multiple monitors is definitely the way to go. Much more flexibility. I used to use three 1920x1200 monitors but I use two these days. One has the drawing area on it and the other has all the drawing, modelling,toolpath, layers tabs etc on it.

When I had three monitors I had the same setup but with the 2D and 3D windows spread across two of them. As 99% of my work these days is 2D I dropped the third one.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7409
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby martin54 » Tue May 23, 2017 10:50 am

I would have to agree with Randall & the others as well, you would be much better adding a second monitor if you are happy with the one you are currently using. :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby ger21 » Tue May 23, 2017 2:09 pm

I use dual 23" Dells at home and dual 27" HP's at work. All are 1920x1080. The HP's were $120 each, and are fine, unless you really need a high end monitor.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby mezalick » Tue May 23, 2017 2:48 pm

Mine also,,,, Both are HP 23" diagonal LCD, 1920 x 1080, HDMI & VGA

Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com/catalog-book/
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby flying_flip » Tue May 23, 2017 3:16 pm

I use dual Monitors 1 HDMI connection, the other standard VGA (15pin sub-D).
Also the left Monitor rotated for viewing Word Docs in the same format as Printed Docs.

Check out https://pcpartpicker.com/ for the best deals.

Phil
flying_flip
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:38 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha FX / VCarve Desktop

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby Rcnewcomb » Tue May 23, 2017 4:20 pm

My current setup at work
FullSizeRender (19).jpg
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby Leo » Tue May 23, 2017 5:03 pm

Dual 24's at home and at work.

If I did anything at all to go bigger - it would still be dual monitors.

I can DEFINITELY see the usage of three monitors.

Single monitor is not an option.
I would rather have dual 17's than a single 34.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2417
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby MarkJohnston » Tue May 23, 2017 5:20 pm

I also have two 24" monitors. One went out the other day and I had to replace it right away. It's supper good when doing Vectric tutorials, work the tutorial on one and watch the tutorial on the other. You can pause and go so easy I always recommend that new people get a 2nd monitor.

Mark
MarkJohnston
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Prescott AZ
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4848

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby Rcnewcomb » Tue May 23, 2017 5:53 pm

I do have some friends who have the Dell UltraSharp 34 Curved Ultrawide Monitor - U3415W and like it quite a bit. It is as wide as two monitors.
Image
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby ChrisInEstes » Tue May 23, 2017 6:45 pm

Yep, I meant 2560 x 1440. If I had a larger monitor, I may have noticed that... :mrgreen:

I was thinking of going with a 2-monitor setup just before last Christmas... I even had another Dell 24" in my Amazon cart but didn't pull the trigger quick enough, and the 1-day sale was over. I thought maybe a single larger one might be the ticket, but I think you're all correct. The plan now is a new 27", that'll save some money, or get me a better monitor, or maybe both. If it bugs me that there's a 24" & a 27" side by side, or it doesn't work or look good, I can move the 27" to this "office stuff" box, and move that 24" over to the CAD/CAM system so they're the same.

My display card supports 2 monitors, so I'll experiment with how I hook them up, and see what works, or works best.

Maybe a future Aspire upgrades/updates will have dual monitor control built in...

Thanks for the advice. I'll post back before I order one.

Chris
Aspire 8.5 - PhotoVCarve - FlexiEXPERT 11
User avatar
ChrisInEstes
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Estes Park, Colorado, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Vytek 4' X 8' - Perske Spindle - Mach3

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby ChrisInEstes » Tue May 23, 2017 9:16 pm

This is the one... I think...

BenQ PD2700Q $329 on Amazon. It's 1 version old, but essentially the same as the new version. It has a CAD/CAM mode! oooooo :roll:

http://www.benq.us/product/monitor/pd2700q

Chris
Aspire 8.5 - PhotoVCarve - FlexiEXPERT 11
User avatar
ChrisInEstes
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Estes Park, Colorado, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Vytek 4' X 8' - Perske Spindle - Mach3

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Postby Rcnewcomb » Tue May 23, 2017 10:06 pm

Maybe a future Aspire upgrades/updates will have dual monitor control built in...

It already works great with multiple monitors
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Next

Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests