Problem with a program.

Re: Problem with a program.

Postby martin54 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:45 am

TReisch I am working on a job with a bunch of mortise and tenons. How are you hanging the parts off the front and running them? I am cutting one side then flipping the part and cutting the other side. If I could stand the 4x4 on end it would be much faster.


Ted built a jig to give him a vertical axis, see this post :lol: :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=23864&p=170710#p170661
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3918
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Problem with a program.

Postby DMcDonald » Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:36 pm

That is a cool setup. Unfortunately it won't work with our machine.
DMcDonald
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:47 am
Location: Melbourne Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Smartshop2

Re: Problem with a program.

Postby TReischl » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Thanks DM. I could do it that way because I could move the machine rails forward and be able to cut outside of the bed.

I have seen machines where they have a hole (slot) in the bed to accomplish the same thing. Maybe you can take a look at that. Of course, if your parts are too long, well, they are just too long! My machine bed sits about 36 inches from the floor so I can put tenons on some pretty long parts.
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2078
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X8 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Problem with a program.

Postby Osborn73 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:50 pm

DId you ever find out what caused the issue with the tool change as described in your initial post?. Im currently having the same issue with my Smartshop2. happened several different times, running different g-code/ jobs. seemingly random, however the end result is consistent - during the affected tool change machine is suddenly about 10" off in the Y axis and it tries to park the bit while still over the work piece...controller says its at Y 108.8 (the point where it normally drops spindle down for tool change over) the Y axis is accurate at all other times. Problem sometimes occurs between tool paths 2 and 3, but today also occurred just after first tool path.
Osborn73
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:00 pm
Model of CNC Machine: laguna smartshop2

Re: Problem with a program.

Postby IslaWW » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:19 pm

Osborn73...
Does your machine have closed loop steppers or servos with an active position loss alarm?
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine

Previous

Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Rcnewcomb, stanv77 and 5 guests