Change spoilboard?

GJHall
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: DIY 48x96

Change spoilboard?

Post by GJHall »

I am finally about ready to get this machine going. I have base on the table with 3/4" baltic birch and them 1" plywood that was available cheap.
I want to put a 1" MDF sheet on top for my spoil board and am looking for how you would hold it down.

I was thinking to glue it but then how do you change it when the time comes? I have heard there are ways to screw it down, but not sure how. This is not a vacuum set up.

I am new to the router world, as I am a welder by trade and cut with a cnc plasma.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Gary

RyanS
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade

Re: Change spoilboard?

Post by RyanS »

There are a million different answers to this question.

The simplets way is to put a screw in the four corners. Preferably where you won't be milling, of course. Simple and effective, but sometimes time consuming and it will make a mess of your spoilboard quickly - so you will have to resurface it every so often.

There are some plastic nails (RAPTOR composite nails) for nailguns that I hear work really well for soft / plywood / mdf. Simply tack em' in and don't fret - you can mill right through them. Haven't used them - but have wanted to. I use mostly hardwoods, and unfortunately the RAPTOR nails don't work so well through them from what I've heard.

You can also get some T-tracks and hold down clamps. This is what I use currently. My favorite clamps are the Shop-fox D3347 cams. They sit about 1/4" high off the spoilboard - and are great for holding things. They are quick and easy, and my favorite method so far.

I'm sure others will chime in with other ideas. Can't wait to hear some!

Leo
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made

Post by Leo »