Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby Leo » Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:27 pm

Does anybody have a setup using Mac3 - Windosw10 and a USB between the computer and the machine?

How is it working?
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby cnc4me » Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:55 pm

Leo,
I have Mach 3 with win10 (just updated from Vista to win10 about a month ago) but I use a SmoothStepper(ethernet) and it seems to be fine. Is your question a windows 10 or more specifically USB connectivity?
cnc4me
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:03 pm
Location: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Model of CNC Machine: XYZ Gantry, PMDX motion, Mach3

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby Leo » Sun Oct 25, 2015 10:40 pm

Both actually,

Mach3 seems to need a parallel port.

It also seems that win10 does not support a parallel port.

Also, my new machine is configured with a USB port.

I am a bit shy on knowledge of this stuff.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby ger21 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 3:10 am

What kind of machine is this?

There are several USB and ethernet motion controllers that work with Mach3 (using a plugin) to get around the parallel port issue. If your machine has a Mach3 plugin, it should work in Windows 10.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby cnc4me » Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:37 pm

ger21 is right on. The first step is acquiring the correct plugin for your setup. Check the Mach support page at: http://www.machsupport.com/software/plugins/
cnc4me
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:03 pm
Location: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Model of CNC Machine: XYZ Gantry, PMDX motion, Mach3

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby Leo » Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:08 pm

It is a XHC Mach3 - 4 axis motion controller.

I contacted Alex at Xhc about using Mach4 and he said no.

That is not a problem to me.

I am just going to revert my computer back to win 7 and use mach3.

The XHC has a plugin for mach3 to communicate with the USB

That will work for me.

If that is problematic, I will upgrade to a newer BOB and mach4 - but that will be in the future some time.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby ger21 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:09 pm

You don't need to revert back to Windows 7. Mach3 will run fine on Windows 10.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby TReischl » Sat Nov 07, 2015 10:07 pm

Hello Leo,

I am running Win 10, usb and smoothstepper, no problems.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2963
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby Leo » Sun Nov 08, 2015 1:40 am

I sent the computer back to win 7. After the machine comes in I will setup on win7 but may try resetting up on win 10 after everything is running again.

The XHC manufacture includes a USB driver for mach3.

I am still waiting for the machine.

Right now it is about 300 miles off the Pacific coast of northern Mexico, headed for the Panama.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby martin54 » Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:24 am

News today said there had been some really bad storms in that area & many merchant ships reported shipping containers being lost over the side :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby Leo » Mon Nov 09, 2015 4:24 am

Mine is last off - so it is safe on the bottom of the stack.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby martin54 » Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:43 pm

Crate "0" was it Leo :lol: :lol:

Have you got a delivery date for it or won't you know that until it has cleared customs?


Don't forget to post pictures once it's installed & up & running.
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby garylmast » Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:39 pm

News today said there had been some really bad storms in that area & many merchant ships reported shipping containers being lost over the side :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


Now you got me worried. I just bought a 150-Watt laser engraver/cutter, that is due at the Long Beach, California harbor this coming Wednesday. I hope they don't tell me to buy some scuba gear so I can get my new toy. :shock:
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby martin54 » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:44 pm

Yep you are going to need the scuba gear, a big magnet, a winch & a sky hook :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Postby Leo » Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:35 pm

As of about 1 hour ago it was about 200 miles off the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula - heading 132 degrees @ about 18 knots, bound for the Panama.

I should see it in Boston ABOUT 11/27/15
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Next

Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests