Z Problems! (New to CNC)

CADTechnician
Model of CNC Machine: Routout CNC - Z90SL

Z Problems! (New to CNC)

Post by CADTechnician »

Hi all,

I work in a school and we recently purchased a CNC machine to expand the capabilities of the department. Since buying it we have not been able to run it properly without running into a few problems. The first issue we had was it carving in reverse, this was sorted quickly by changing the X and Y axis'. The second more annoying problem is that when running a job it will do part of it then it will move up too much on the Z and continue to run cutting at the wrong depth, then not cutting on the material at all. I've slowed down the acceleration on the Z axis, made sure all parts are tightened correctly and made sure it isn't hitting the end stop but still the problem occurs. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :D
We run VCarve Pro and Mach 3.

Max

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Z Problems! (New to CNC)

Post by PaulRowntree »

It sounds like you are losing steps on the downward Z motions. If you are absolutely sure that the Z is mechanically solid, then you should look at the electrical side. This starts at the parallel port, and includes the cables, break-out-board, and the actual stepper drivers. The software is not the issue. On my machine it is always mechanical, no matter how many times I think I have verified it.

It may be useful to set up a job that causes problems but offset the Z higher in Z so that the tool never touches the material. If Z remains inaccurate (ie Z offset shifts up after the job) then the problem is not load related. Could be a bad connection on the Z motion. Try swapping the entire Z wiring with X or Y : the bad connection should move to the swapped axis.

If Z offset is now constant no matter how many times you try it, the fault is load dependent, possibly a bad driver or again a bad connection (but less likely).

Cheers!
Paul Rowntree