CNC router

Re: CNC router

Postby rej » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:58 pm

1
Last edited by rej on Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.3dsigncamp.com
http://www.roctechusacnc.com
rej
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:30 am
Location: bridgeton, indiana
Model of CNC Machine: 2014 roc-tech 4x8 with servos

Re: CNC router

Postby rej » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:58 pm

hope it works for you. their users sure love the machines and are very loyal. and a nice forum as well.
http://www.3dsigncamp.com
http://www.roctechusacnc.com
rej
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:30 am
Location: bridgeton, indiana
Model of CNC Machine: 2014 roc-tech 4x8 with servos

Re: CNC router

Postby LessPaul » Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:06 pm

I have a FineLineAutomation machine -- which is 8020 extrusions with CNCRouterParts moving parts. Mine is 24x36, and if I were to go bigger, I would put my trust in FineLineAutomation and/or CNCRouterParts without hesitation. On the other hand, it has taken me a long while to add the bells and whistles that come with a full-blown commercial system, but for me, that has been half the fun.
LessPaul
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: FineLine Automation FLA-100

Re: CNC router

Postby Xxray » Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:58 pm

rej wrote:"Hobby, business or a combination of the 2 I would not go with an asian machine, thats just me."
nice to know you have American made steppers, and rails, and z ballscrew and drivers.
I think the machine you have comes standard with porter cable 2.2 hp router. http://www.ehow.com/facts_7496266_porte ... -made.html

"Headquarters
In 1960 the company moved to Tennessee, which remained the manufacturing base for the company even as it has been acquired by other larger toolmaking entities such as Rockwell and Pentair. However, Black & Decker's purchase of Porter-Cable in 2005, and then the subsequent buyout of Black & Decker by Stanley in 2009, now means that Porter-Cable tools are being made overseas with Mexico or China being the most common origin. The Jackson, Tenn., plant now functions primarily as a distribution center and currently employs over 3,000 people."

not tying to be argumentative, just stating facts.



Read more: http://www.ehow.com/facts_7496266_porte ... z2u5LccVrX


I never claimed every single component of a USA made machine was made in the USA ,, And in any case, this is an international forum so that point is kind of mute. An outfit like Porter-Cable would have far greater quality control & support than some fly by night CNC manufacturer from Quading Provence anyhow regardless of where they are produced, else they'd go out of business pronto. My porter cable goes out I can get parts, support and service from numerous places and worse case scenario go to home depot to get another one - Try that with your Zing Dong spindle.
The point you seem to be blowing off is the undoubted superior customer service and support offered by established manufacturers, not to mention superior build quality ,,, And in any case, I haven't seen any recommendations from you at all of made in china machines while I have given 3 specific recommendations.
So much for the "not tying to be argumentative" part, but whatever.
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1934
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: CNC router

Postby TReischl » Sun Feb 23, 2014 1:45 am

rej wrote:the vision video says up to 10ips. not saying its not true, but i'd like to see that one.


You seem to be skeptical of those feeds? I did a homebuilt, nothing special and it easily will rapid at 1200 IPM (20 IPS) and cut at 800 IPM (13 IPS).

If you don't believe it, you can come over anytime to see it.
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2797
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: CNC router

Postby rej » Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:10 am

I don't want to come over, but i'd like to see that on video because I have been led to believe you can't get good cuts going that fast. but obviously you can because you are doing it. are you doing that with steppers?
http://www.3dsigncamp.com
http://www.roctechusacnc.com
rej
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:30 am
Location: bridgeton, indiana
Model of CNC Machine: 2014 roc-tech 4x8 with servos

Re: CNC router

Postby Gc3 » Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:54 am

Xray...jeezzz

I invite you to my shop floor to see China machine...XJ1325BG
Gc3
 

Re: CNC router

Postby Jerry In Maine » Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:37 pm

LessPaul wrote:I have a FineLineAutomation machine -- which is 8020 extrusions with CNCRouterParts moving parts. Mine is 24x36, and if I were to go bigger, I would put my trust in FineLineAutomation and/or CNCRouterParts without hesitation. On the other hand, it has taken me a long while to add the bells and whistles that come with a full-blown commercial system, but for me, that has been half the fun.


My brother had the same machine and is happy with it. I have the CNCROUTERPARTS 48x48 and I'm pretty tickled with it. Spend time getting them finely tuned any they seem to hold this settings over time, which I think says a lot about them.

Price on both is pretty reasonable too.
I'm just a number in a great design
User avatar
Jerry In Maine
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:46 am
Location: Surry, Maine USA
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Router Parts CRP4848

Re: CNC router

Postby ChiloquinRuss » Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:41 pm

Almost all of the machines listed have websites and or forums for their users. Go to them and look for some key items, I.E. what kinds of questions are the USERS asking, check the date and time of the post of the question, then look for the date and time they got back a response, and lastly what was the response, did they get their questions answered and by whom (user / support / both)! Russ
AKA: The Train Guy!
User avatar
ChiloquinRuss
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:58 am
Location: Chiloquin, Oregon
Model of CNC Machine: 2008 48x96 ShopBot spindle and Aspire

Re: CNC router

Postby Xxray » Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:25 pm

Gc3 wrote:Xray...jeezzz

I invite you to my shop floor to see China machine...XJ1325BG


I am happy that you have a machine you are satisfied with - I only note that googling "XJ1325BG" brings a grand total of 1 result.
It would take a stupendous leap of faith for most people to consider pulling the trigger on a unknown like that, but once again, I am glad it worked out for you.
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1934
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: CNC router

Postby rej » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:16 pm

you are correct.
if you put in "1325 cnc" you'll get a ton of them. it simply refers to 1300x2500mm, or 4x8
what I like about the one gc3 refers to is the pics on the salecnc website are of his work. and done with vectric software.
the companies over there need to hook up with vectric. Roctech, the machine I have, they had never heard of vectric. but i'm about to change that!!! :)
http://www.3dsigncamp.com
http://www.roctechusacnc.com
rej
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:30 am
Location: bridgeton, indiana
Model of CNC Machine: 2014 roc-tech 4x8 with servos

Re: CNC router

Postby CrowsWW » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:25 pm

I purchased an ShopSabre 4896 and love it! Before you make you final decision check them out www.shopsabre.com

I did research CNC's for about 6 months before I bought the ShopSabre
Troy Crow
Crow's Woodwork's
http://www.crowswoodworks.com
I have a day job to support my wood habit!
User avatar
CrowsWW
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Palmer, Alaska USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre 4896

Re: CNC router

Postby Gc3 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:47 pm

Xxray wrote:
Gc3 wrote:Xray...jeezzz

I invite you to my shop floor to see China machine...XJ1325BG


I am happy that you have a machine you are satisfied with - I only note that googling "XJ1325BG" brings a grand total of 1 result.
It would take a stupendous leap of faith for most people to consider pulling the trigger on a unknown like that, but once again, I am glad it worked out for you.



http://salecnc.com/catalog/CNC-Router-M ... BG-machine
Gc3
 

Re: CNC router

Postby TReischl » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:54 pm

rej wrote:I don't want to come over, but i'd like to see that on video because I have been led to believe you can't get good cuts going that fast. but obviously you can because you are doing it. are you doing that with steppers?


Sorry for the delay but I was doing other projects in the shop that had to be finished first.

Here is the video on YouTube:

http://youtu.be/Pt8n43_YRjI

The machine is nothing "special". It has a cutting area of 3 X 4 and a Z travel of 7 inches. X&Y are R&P, Z is screw. It is run by Mach3 with Ger21's excellent screenset. The cutter in this video is an older 1/2 two flute spiral. Depth of cut was .125, feedrate programmed at 800 IPM. Except for the first cut, the bit was cutting at half diameter. The pocket reached the 800 IPM. The lettering would hit about 550 on the longer sections. I did not feel like messing around with the accels/decels today. The computer is nothing special either, about 5 years old now. It runs through SmoothStepper on the USB.

The material is a piece of crummy construction grade pine I had lying around. The pocket is 25 X 4, the letters are 3.5 tall. It is fun to watch it cut through knots at that speed.

I apologize for the lousy filming in the later half of the movie, I was trying to zoom in and did realize the camera did not focus. Ah well, I am woodworker not a Movie Mogul!

Doing a little math for this one comes up with about .0012 chip load at these speeds with a two flute cutter.

So, running at 200 IPM the cutter is only advancing at about .0003 per tooth per rev. I can tell you this, bits last way longer at these high feed rates. Normally if I am cutting really fussy stuff I use high speed steel cutters in pine. HSS can be sharpened about 4X as sharp as carbide. The fuzzies pretty much go away.

Leo, who posts often on this forum has seen this machine. Unfortunately we did not run it while he was here.

Ger's screenset has some useful functions. The machine is rapiding at 800 IPM, but that is impossible to work with when manually jogging the machine. His screenset allows the manual jog to be set at a percentage of the maximum rapid. So I can manually jog around at any speed I am comfortable with but have the benefit of fast rapids when the program is running.

Hope you enjoyed the movie!

PS - these speeds are great when I have to surface the spoil boards.

PS2 - I hung that bit way out there so that folks don't think this only works if it is a real short cutter. That cutter is hanging out over 1.5 inches.

Ted
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2797
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: CNC router

Postby rej » Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:34 pm

the video was wild, loved it. very impressive. I have never cut that fast. do you always use those speeds?
http://www.3dsigncamp.com
http://www.roctechusacnc.com
rej
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:30 am
Location: bridgeton, indiana
Model of CNC Machine: 2014 roc-tech 4x8 with servos

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests