Blown powersupply

Blown powersupply

Postby Ms Wolffie » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:09 pm

Wish I could get my machine up and running again.
I blew up a powersupply, got a new one but don't know how to check whether I blew the motors as well.
Bit worried about blowing up another power supply.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Postby Timvmax » Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:48 pm

I blew up a powersupply, got a new one but don't know how to check whether I blew the motors as well.
Bit worried about blowing up another power supply.

Can we help? lots of knowledge on here
Timvmax
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 3:41 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Postby Ms Wolffie » Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:26 am

Sure wish you could.
I have a good powersupply with a bad controller board
I have another box with a bad power supply and a good controller board.
They are the same brand but different models.
Parts do not fit in the same box.
The board blew up when the supply wires burnt
MeltedWires.jpg
Burnt wires.jpg

I noticed the moulded cable got very hot but it was not until I blew the powerbox up and stripped the moulded plug that I
found out how bad the problem was.
Now I only have one chance to find out whether I blew the stepper motors as well and I do not know how.
I have rewired the connection with stronger wires.
I know how to pair the wires.
Can I test the motors with a battery?
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Postby mezalick » Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:45 am

I think we need to send an emergency response team..who’s with me ??? :D
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com
mm@mezalick.com
User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Postby rscrawford » Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:04 am

I'm up for a trip to Australia if you need back-up Michael!
Russell Crawford
http://www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
User avatar
rscrawford
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Cobra 408 ATC, ShopSabre IS408

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Postby PaulRowntree » Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:28 am

I'm in for a road trip ...
When I think of a blown motor, it could either make a coil go open circuit or short-circuit. Open should be apparent with an ohm-meter. If shorted out inside to another coil that should be seen with the ohm-meter too.

Shorted out inside to itself should be seen as too low a resistance. Also, the mechanical resistance to manually turning the shaft should go up a lot when you short out a coil at the connector, almost like a brake. If there is no difference felt, and it is always very stiff, it could be shorted out inside.

If the photos show the connectors going to the motors, then it looks like they may have shorted out where they go out of the cover shell. is this right? If so, I think the wires died while heroically saving the motors.

But then again, it is probably needs a road trip to be sure ...
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Blown powersupply

Postby BrianM » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:33 am

Split from topic on fluting gadget(!) and moved here.

Brian
Brian Moran
Managing Director
Vectric Ltd.
User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Location: Redditch U.K

Re: Blown powersupply

Postby PaulRowntree » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:32 pm

Sounds like we need a travel section to the forum :wink:
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Blown powersupply

Postby Ms Wolffie » Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:11 am

You can probably get cheaper flight if you put a red cross on your luggage?
You need tickets to Cairns, Queensland :D
I'll be waiting at the airport.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro

Re: Blown powersupply

Postby Ms Wolffie » Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:40 am

When I think of a blown motor, it could either make a coil go open circuit or short-circuit. Open should be apparent with an ohm-meter. If shorted out inside to another coil that should be seen with the ohm-meter too.

Shorted out inside to itself should be seen as too low a resistance. Also, the mechanical resistance to manually turning the shaft should go up a lot when you short out a coil at the connector, almost like a brake. If there is no difference felt, and it is always very stiff, it could be shorted out inside.

This is all double Dutch to me.

If the photos show the connectors going to the motors, then it looks like they may have shorted out where they go out of the cover shell. is this right? If so, I think the wires died while heroically saving the motors.
Yes, they burned out about 1/2" up the moulded cable. I suppose they deserve a medal for heroism :D
Plug.png

Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro

Re: Blown powersupply

Postby PaulRowntree » Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:29 am

Ms Wolffie wrote:
Shorted out inside to itself should be seen as too low a resistance. Also, the mechanical resistance to manually turning the shaft should go up a lot when you short out a coil at the connector, almost like a brake. If there is no difference felt, and it is always very stiff, it could be shorted out inside.[/i]
This is all double Dutch to me.

Cheers
Wolffie

You can turn the shaft of a stepper fairly easily by hand, but only when the wires to the coil are not shorted out. Connect the two ends of the coil together, and the resistance to turning goes WAY up. It is like a built-in brake. If you don't see any difference in the turning resistance, and it is always very stiff, then maybe there is an internal short.
As to the cable, I thought that the melt was where the wires left a metal shell, and maybe they wore through. I can't imagine this on a molded connector/cable system though. Probably one wire was defective with a high point resistance, got hot, increased resistance even more, etc .. caused the meltdown.
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Blown powersupply

Postby Ms Wolffie » Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:45 pm

Your guess is a pretty good one, Paul.
When I whittled the moulded part away from the connector, I found one point with plenty of solder and no wire. The wire was sort of floating around in the plastic and had ever seen a spot of solder.
Of course, I would ever have seen that if it wasn't necessary to cut the moulded plastic away to find out which colour wire went where.
I have written the manufacturer of my CNC with my findings but have not, to date, had a reply.
I guess thin computer wires are OK for 110 volts but not for 240 volts.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro


Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests