Planet-cnc

Planet-cnc

Postby Ms Wolffie » Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:46 am

Have anyone tried this one?
It is getting more and more difficult to source serial (or is it parallel?) port equipped computers for Mach3.
Image
http://www.planet-cnc.com/index.php?page=hardware
It looks interesting and the price is not bad either.
I do know about the smoothstepper, this is just a different idea.

Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro

Re: Planet-cnc

Postby martin54 » Sat Jan 11, 2014 11:57 am

Although a lot of computers off the shelf now come without a parallel port which you need for mach3 unless your using a usb device like a smoothstepper the parallel header is still present on a lot of the mother boards & just requires a cable connected to it. You can only run on an older computer with windows xp via parallel port but I have read that it will operate under windows 7 64 bit if using usb. If you just have the one computer for everything then that would be the way to go. I have a machine that only runs mach3 for controlling the machine so an old computer works fine.
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4574
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Planet-cnc

Postby Ms Wolffie » Sun Jan 12, 2014 12:02 am

martin54 wrote: I have a machine that only runs mach3 for controlling the machine so an old computer works fine.

That is if you can source one.
They are getting rarer than hens' teeth in this neck of the woods.
I live in the middle of nowhere as far as computers go.
I bought the Planet-cnc kit for about the same price as a smoothstepper would cost me and no Mach3 license or Gecko cost on top of it.

Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro

Re: Planet-cnc

Postby mikeacg » Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:14 am

I've been researching this all day since you posted it earlier and really like the sounds of it. I found some good sources (one was $99 for this exact board) and some great ideas for future projects. I was going to use Mach3 for building a plasma cutter out of an old CNC machine but this sounds like a good fit! Thanks Ms. Wolfie!!!

Mike :D
User avatar
mikeacg
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Newberry, MI
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger, Sidewinder, SB 4x4

Re: Planet-cnc

Postby PaulRowntree » Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:29 am

Do you know if it supports automatic touch-plate macros (like used on ger21's Bluescreen for Mach3) ?
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Planet-cnc

Postby mikeacg » Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:27 am

This one says it does:

http://www.probotix.com/pxb-usb_usb_int ... ontroller/


Advanced interpolation algorithms
Control external devices with I2C protocol
Pause/resume of execution supported
Automatic homing procedure
Touch Plate Tool Change Procedure
Standard RS274/NGC G-code (EMC2 compatible)
Toolpath simulation
Advanced G-codes - G40, G41, G42 (Cutter Radius Compensation) supported
Advanced G-codes - G43, G49 (Tool Length Offsets) supported
Advanced G-codes - G54, G59.3 (Coordinate System Origins)
User avatar
mikeacg
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Newberry, MI
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger, Sidewinder, SB 4x4

Re: Planet-cnc

Postby rondunn » Sun Jan 12, 2014 8:44 am

Use it, love it.

Parallel ports are DEAD, products like this are the answer.

I tried KFLop - it wasn't for me - but this product installed on an old notebook computer and went straight to work.
rondunn
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:24 am

Re: Planet-cnc

Postby Ms Wolffie » Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:54 am

mikeacg wrote:I've been researching this all day since you posted it earlier and really like the sounds of it. I found some good sources (one was $99 for this exact board) and some great ideas for future projects. I was going to use Mach3 for building a plasma cutter out of an old CNC machine but this sounds like a good fit! Thanks Ms. Wolfie!!!

Mike :D

Thank you to you as well Mike.
I am happy to find someone more experienced than I am likes it.
I was worried that Mach3 is a bit long in the tooth and nothing has been done to upgrade it (not even the manual) since it was originally made for milling machines.
I found Mach3 very confusing.
The "Coming soon to your machine" promise for Mach4 smacks too much like the 4th axis promise for the Shark :cry:
Thank you to Ron as well.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro


Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests