What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby dan_barber » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:06 pm

I used to power it with 230V 3 phase, but I am running out of a residential garage now, so the static controller will not work. I assume I will need another controller.

I am not sure about 230v single and 3 phase, although from what I have read the 230v available in a residence will be single phase.

Will this unit work? http://shop.actechdrives.com/AC-Tech-Lenze-ESV402N02TXB-p/esv402n02txb.htm
dan_barber
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby potzmannwoodshop » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:09 pm

YOu need a 5hp Variable Frequency drive. I suggest leaving this job to a pro. Hiring an electrician will pay for itself by making sure you are set up correctly.
potzmannwoodshop
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 2:03 pm
Model of CNC Machine: SCM Routech Record 120(1999 vintage)

Re: What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby IslaWW » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:01 pm

Dan...
I would qualify this a bit more. You either need a 5 HP single phase rated VFD or a 10 HP 3 phase unit.

Plus 1 to the hire a qualified tradesman
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby dan_barber » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:11 pm

5 HP single phase rated VFD output is equal to a 10 HP 3 phase unit?
dan_barber
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby ger21 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:46 pm

When you run a bigger 3 phase VFD in single phase, you need to derate it 50%
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby garylmast » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:39 pm

Before you go to a lot of expense in hiring a electrician or other conversion, you may consider a 3-phase to single phase converter. Although I purchased one going the other way (single to three-phase), they are fairly cheap, usually under $200. Do a Google search and you should find something. The 5-hp spindle don't require a lot of ampage, so consider that before you buy. Gary
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby ger21 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:26 pm

Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: What Do I Need For My 5hp 230V Spindle?

Postby AlbertaClipper » Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:36 pm

You need to send it to me and I'll send you my Colt :wink:
AlbertaClipper
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:47 am
Location: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built


Return to Hardware related questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests