Recalculate All

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro

Recalculate All

Postby olf20 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:40 pm

I have had some problems when I make some changes and
it does not seem they are made in my cut files.
I frequently use the Recalculate button. Is this the correct way??
Some have said it does not work all the time, or under certain
circumstances.
Thanks for your help!!
olf20 / Bob
[color=#8000BF]Heat with corn, Mach3, Bridgeport clone, VcarvePo, Photo VCarve, Craftsman Wood Lathe[/color]
olf20
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:03 am
Location: NW Ill

Re: Recalculate All

Postby IslaWW » Sun Dec 09, 2018 3:46 pm

I have seen no instances where the "recalc all" does not work. This has been both good and bad. …. Don't ask... :oops:
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine

Re: Recalculate All

Postby Adrian » Sun Dec 09, 2018 3:53 pm

Depends on the changes you make and how you have the toolpaths set up. If you've manually associated the vectors within the toolpath and then do an operation that results in that vector basically becoming a new vector the Recalculate All will fail for example.

Need more information on what you're actually doing to be able to say 100% why it's now working.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Recalculate All

Postby olf20 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:09 pm

When I make a small change in a file, as in moving a object(s), grouped or ungrouped
I will just click the recal all.
I have not nailed it down to the recal all 100%.
Sometimes my change does not appear in my gcode file.
Still looking for the problem, could very well be me, although I was sure
I made the change and reloaded the file.
Thanks for the replies.!!!
olf20 / Bob
[color=#8000BF]Heat with corn, Mach3, Bridgeport clone, VcarvePo, Photo VCarve, Craftsman Wood Lathe[/color]
olf20
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:03 am
Location: NW Ill

Re: Recalculate All

Postby highpockets » Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:27 pm

Once you've recalculated the toolpaths are you creating new gcode files by saving the toolpaths using your postprocessor?
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Recalculate All

Postby olf20 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:01 am

Thanks for the reply High Pockets. Yea I'm saving the gcode file again.
Just can not put my finger on the occasional problem.
olf20 / Bob
[color=#8000BF]Heat with corn, Mach3, Bridgeport clone, VcarvePo, Photo VCarve, Craftsman Wood Lathe[/color]
olf20
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:03 am
Location: NW Ill

Re: Recalculate All

Postby highpockets » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:14 am

Sorry for the stupid questions, but a lot of the time it's the simple stuff I over look.

Have you looked at the file date to make sure it's actually saving the gcode file where you think it is? If you are resaving the toolpath to the same name you should be getting a warning message about over writing a previously saved file.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Recalculate All

Postby FixitMike » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:23 am

Any time you make a new vector, it has to be added to those selected for a toolpath for it to recalculate. If the new vector has been placed on a layer that is selected by the toolpath, then it is automatically selected. Recalculate works automatically if a vector is moved, node edited, or resized.

The vector drawn by the Offset tool is, for example, a new vector.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.
User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1540
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Location: Renton, WA USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (extensively modified)


Return to VCarve - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests