Creating a bounding box

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro

Re: Creating a bounding box

Postby Adrian » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:05 am

Out of interest what is it used for in relation to CNC work? I use the rubber band boundary a lot but I've never come across the need for a rectangular box.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 8344
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Creating a bounding box

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:30 pm

I've used it a couple times for a visual/dimensional layout reference. Was trying to recall a specific example what project(s) I used it for, but cannot. I've used it so seldom, I had even forgotten about the Square Around Gadget when replying earlier in this post!

Nevertheless, I think it seems logical to add a "square around" option to the Vector Boundary feature if it's not too much trouble and time to do.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3160
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Creating a bounding box

Postby adze_cnc » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:02 pm

Adrian wrote:Out of interest what is it used for in relation to CNC work? I use the rubber band boundary a lot but I've never come across the need for a rectangular box.


What the original poster needs it for is a mystery to me. I use it in Rhino quite a bit in the same sense that Michael Tyler does. Usually to find the location and depth of geometric features in an otherwise blobby 3D model.

On the other hand I've never used the rubber band boundary.

Steven
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Creating a bounding box

Postby RoslinM » Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:17 pm

I have made the Create Rectangle form have two features to help create bounding box geometry which will hopefully be in the next release:

1) Usually, if you open the Create Rectangle form with a rectangle selected, the form is set to edit that rectangle.
New behaviour: if you open the Create Rectangle form with a selection (which may contain multiple objects) the form will have its properties set to the bounding box of that selection so you just click the Create button if that's what you wanted. The selection will be cleared in case that wasn't what you wanted.

2) Usually you'd shift+click a rectangle to edit it. If you shift+click something that isn't a rectangle, the tool will draw the bounding box. This will only work for single objects; to do the equivalent of boxing multiple objects, they'd have to be grouped first.

Note that single horizontal or vertical lines are ignored because they'd result in a zero height or width rectangle.

I'm hoping to figure out an algorithm to do something similar with the create ellipse tool that would create the smallest axially aligned ellipse that encloses the selection. This could then be offset to give the job an elliptical border with a consistent margin...
RoslinM
 

Re: Creating a bounding box

Postby mtylerfl » Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:55 pm

Thank you, Roslin! I like your idea about the ellipse boundary around selected objects, if you're able to figure that out too.

Thanks again!
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3160
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Previous

Return to VCarve - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests