How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby highpockets » Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:09 pm

gkas wrote:Not to hijack this thread, but is there some way to find the maximum cut depth of a Vcarve without hovering over an entire section?


Not sure what you mean by entire section.
If you hover over the Vcarve toolpath, information about the toolpath will be displayed including the max depth of cut.
You can also mouse over Preview Toolpath and the depth of cut for the spot under the mouse will be displayed in the bottom menu bar to the right of XY coordinates.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby Rcnewcomb » Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:12 pm

but is there some way to find the maximum cut depth of a Vcarve without hovering over an entire section?

Yes. Hover over the toolpath.
MaxDepth.PNG
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby gkas » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:59 am

Sorry for my misused wording. I would like to know the max depth of an entire toolpath without hovering the toolpath.

I'm trying to decide on the vbit for a carve.
Attachments
Ducati crv.jpg
gkas
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Location: Southern California
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8 Pro+

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby mtylerfl » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:08 am

Hello

Please review the post Randall made. He made a screenshot and provided the easiest method for you. Hover.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby highpockets » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:26 am

gkas wrote:Sorry for my misused wording. I would like to know the max depth of an entire toolpath without hovering the toolpath.

I'm trying to decide on the vbit for a carve.


Until you create a toolpath with a selected v-bit VCarve has no way of reporting the max depth of a toolpath.

It would be kind of a useful gadget or addition to the toolpath area, to tell VCarve what type of bit to use and the max desired depth of cut and have it recommend a bit to use with vcarve toolpath.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby IslaWW » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:40 am

gkas...
Does your control software have a "simulate" or preview function? The ones that do will tell you many statistics about the toolpath. Min/max XYZ among them.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby gkas » Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:59 am

None at all. Until I get my new machine, I'm using PicSender to send the gcode.
gkas
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Location: Southern California
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8 Pro+

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby highpockets » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:15 am

Not sure it would be of any help, but have you looked at the Create Job Feature?
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby gkas » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:57 am

Good call. Each bit breakout has a Max Cut Depth:

Toolpath: V-Carve Bike
Toolpath Info
Time Estimate: 02:13:37
Toolpath Type: V-Carve / Engraving Toolpath
Feed Rate: 25 inch/min
Plunge Rate: 10 inch/min
Spindle Speed: 16000
Tool InfoTool Name: V-Bit (90 deg 0.5")
Tool Type: V-Bit
Tool Number: 1
Max Cut Depth: 0.231"
Pass Depth: 0.08"
Stepover: 0.01"
gkas
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Location: Southern California
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8 Pro+

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby LittleGreyMan » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:44 am

gkas wrote:I would like to know the max depth of an entire toolpath without hovering the toolpath.


Hover the mouse on the toolpath name in the toolpath list. A tooltip with some information will pop up. IIRC correctly, there is the max depth.
Best regards

LGM

W7 - Aspire 8.517
LittleGreyMan
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Location: France
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Charlyrobot & Mecanumeric

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby johnelle » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:37 am

Ok per request attached is the project that caused my frustration, but in general I am not at the point where I can intuitively predict a vcarve path even though I always run the simulation, usually multiple times. I have a big sign on the monitor reminding me to zero properly (so I usually remember...not always).

This is a simple test for a new fancy (i.e. expensive) conical bit that I wanted to use to carve trail signs out of "color core" plastic. So far I was shocked that a bit with a 1/32" tip appears too big (?) to do the job. Did a great job on the trail profile path. Looks like I am off to experiment with some other bits. I had to roll back some changes to get back to a snapshot from yesterday.

Test Conical.crv
Test Trail Map
(522 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
johnelle
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 7:23 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby Adrian » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:50 am

You're using a rounded bit rather than a sharp point bit so by the time the edges of the tool meet the vectors the actual depth is tiny (0.007") of an inch which is why you're not seeing much in the preview and it's giving the impression of air cutting as setting the z to be that accurate is nigh on impossible. On the smaller letters the penetration is only 0.002" of a inch.

The letters are tiny (0.1" high with a stroke of 0.01") which is the main cause of the problem. They are far too small for a bit with a tip of that size. Have you defined it properly? If it has a tip of 1/32" of an inch then that it's diameter so the tip radius should be 0.015625 rather than 0.03125 I think. That will give you twice the penetration but it will still be far too light for what you're trying to do.

For lettering of that size the usual approach is to use single line fonts and a profile toolpath set to be On the vector with a cut depth that give you the result you're looking for.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7408
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby johnelle » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:31 am

Well the documentation says the tip radius is 1/32 https://www.hartvilletool.com/product/9401/cnc-router-bits so I assume I enter 0.3125 in the tip radius field?

It would be helpful if you explained your calculations/numbers a little more . "The actual depth is tiny 0.007 which I calculated/observed from xyz..." etc
johnelle
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 7:23 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby Adrian » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:33 am

Hover the mouse over the VCarve toolpath in the toolpath list and it will show you the maximum depth that the toolpath reaches.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7408
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: How does Vcarve calculating vcarving depth?

Postby ger21 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:24 pm

johnelle wrote:Well the documentation says the tip radius is 1/32 https://www.hartvilletool.com/product/9401/cnc-router-bits so I assume I enter 0.3125 in the tip radius field?

It would be helpful if you explained your calculations/numbers a little more . "The actual depth is tiny 0.007 which I calculated/observed from xyz..." etc



1/32 = 0.03125, not 0.3125, which is 5/16.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

PreviousNext

Return to VCarve - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ger21 and 6 guests