Increase resources

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro

Increase resources

Postby sudo » Mon Jun 05, 2017 10:14 pm

Im having issues with Vcarve timing out and not responding to large(?) files. Is there any way within the software to increase its RAM/CPU utilization/performance?

Im watching my systems resources and they're hardly getting touched, but vcarve has stopped responding....
sudo
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC SHARK HD4

Re: Increase resources

Postby sudo » Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:34 pm

Looks like one of the issues was open vectors.


Now im having an issue where I cant import .jpg and png files. What the heck is going on?
sudo
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC SHARK HD4

Re: Increase resources

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:09 am

sudo wrote:Looks like one of the issues was open vectors.


Now im having an issue where I cant import .jpg and png files. What the heck is going on?


Should work as long as you are using the correct import tools for Bitmaps.

There are two:

1) File/Import/Import Bitmap

...or...

2) Use the "Import Bitmap for tracing" icon (located in the 2D Menu under the heading "File Operations"). This is the best method (even if you have no intention of actually tracing the bitmap). Bitmaps imported using the icon come in at the highest quality possible for a given bitmap. I don't know why the software is designed this way, but it is.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2446
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Increase resources

Postby scottp55 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:50 am

"Bitmaps imported using the icon come in at the highest quality possible for a given bitmap."
Learn something new every day! :)
Thanks Michael!!
scott
User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2078
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot Desktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP9

Re: Increase resources

Postby IslaWW » Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:59 am

Have you tried rebooting the computer and restarting VCPro?
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Increase resources

Postby martin54 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:55 am

If you are having problems with timing out & now you can't import bitmaps then it may be that the program registry has become corrupt, are you having problems with any other programs on the computer? If it were me then I would uninstall the program & then install it again. Download the latest version from your customer portal to ensure the new installation is up to date & not corrupt in any way. I would also scan my computer for any virus or malware software :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Increase resources

Postby sudo » Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:35 pm

Thanks all for the words of wisdom. The png/jpeg issue seems to be the size of the image. If I export it, with say a width of 48", I get an error. When I shrink it down, it imports just fine.

Everything else on my machine seems fine.
sudo
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC SHARK HD4

Re: Increase resources

Postby highpockets » Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:40 pm

Why are you importing such a large bitmap?
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Increase resources

Postby SteveNelson46 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 5:33 pm

sudo wrote:Im having issues with Vcarve timing out and not responding to large(?) files. Is there any way within the software to increase its RAM/CPU utilization/performance?

Im watching my systems resources and they're hardly getting touched, but vcarve has stopped responding....


It sounds like that you could be having compatibility issues with other software programs. Re-boot and then close all programs that could be starting up automatically. Including your anti-virus program. You may need to use the task manager to temporarily close some of the programs and remove them from memory. Then give it another go.
Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Carvewright

Re: Increase resources

Postby Rcnewcomb » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:07 pm

Also, are you running the 32 bit or 64 bit executable?
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out - another good day in the shop
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot, CAMaster

Re: Increase resources

Postby martin54 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:04 pm

Not quite sure what you are trying to do but as John has said why are you importing such a large file? It either has to be low resolution or an extremely large file. I can't think of anything in vcarve that would require a bitmap at that size :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3277
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: Increase resources

Postby joeporter » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:02 pm

It seems like something similar has happened to me recently...I wanted to import a bitmap drawing on a single page from a rather large manual. I think you cannot separate a single page from a PDF file; it wants to import the whole thing? Is this right? Maybe this is what is happening.....joe
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard


Return to VCarve - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests