What kind of paint to use?

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro
Patm
Vectric Apprentice

What kind of paint to use?

Post by Patm »

I'm a complete newb when it comes to "art" painting and I don't know what kinds of paints work well with woods or MDF. I assume that regular house paint isn't the best choice (I'd imagine its too thick and fills in fine details).

What types of paints do you use?

harryball
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRT Alpha

Post by harryball »

What a can of worms you can open when talking about paints! I use acrylic artist paints for little detail stuff and over coat with clear acrylic. We use Sherwin Williams Duration paint for our bat houses, it holds up very well and is available nationwide so people can purchase paint for touch up etc... I've used it over cedar and MDF and it seems to hold up well. We try to stick to waterbased stuff or anything that will clean up with soap and water. The only exception is Shellac, we use a good bit of that for undercoating and sealing things.
Robert
http://www.habitatforbats.org
Give a Bat a Home!

Thkoutsidthebox
Vectric Wizard

Post by Thkoutsidthebox »