Flue Toolpath Usage

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro
NewAgent45
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark HD2 - Black Diamond CP v2.1

Flue Toolpath Usage

Post by NewAgent45 »

I'm a novice with some of the newer features included with VCP 8.

I want to create a rounded trough to be used for storage of Checkers on a Checker board table top. The checkers are cut from hardwood and measure approximately 1 1/2 dia. x 1/2 and I want to store 12 in each of 2 troughs. Just a simple rounded trough with a radius of 0.75 set 1/2" deep.

I know I could easily create and import a simple 3D model in Sketch-up. But I don't currently have a full function copy of the software. I don't have any other software to do this either. So I'm limited to using the tools in VCP 8.

I thought I might be able to do this with the fluting toolpath to accomplish results. After playing with the fluting toolpath I decided to try the following,

Steps:
1. I drew a single line/vector the approximate length of trough.

2. With this line selected I used array copy to create the rest of the toolpath vectors (39) with a gap of 0.025". The distance between vectors to be used for the fluting toolpaths will be 0.025".

3. I positioned these vectors on the project and could duplicate them in another location if I want additional "troughs".

4. I don't have access to a drawing program anymore so I opened another instance of VCP and did a quick side view drawing to determine the flute depth for each fluting toolpath (20). 20 because a pair of vectors except the center/last vector will be selected for each tool path. If you have more than one "trough" you may select a pair for each of them at the same time.