velocity settings and speed

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro
brockadeau
Vectric Craftsman

velocity settings and speed

Post by brockadeau »

Hi-- I have an older Digital Tool router with rack and pinion gears which can run up to 400 ipm. I never run it this fast for several reasons-- wear and tear on the machine, quality of cut (chatter marks), it will bog down the Porter Cable router, it breaks 1/4" bits, the noise is too great, it is too
bouncy at change in velocity-- which brings me to my question-- Setting the velocity. If I run a program with very small lines at a very fast speed the machine tends to feel like it is vibrating a lot at the transition of vectors (although the cut is really not bad). I have been running this machine almost daily for the last 14 years (not constantly) with only replacement of limit switches so far (knock on wood)(due to the dust getting in them even with a dust collector). It seems to me that if I was trying to run the machine at a high speed it would be dead by now, but maybe some of that is due to improper velocity settings. I run WinCNC as the driving program and wonder if anyone else can shed some insight into the effects of changing the settings in the WinCNC.ini file. On programs wiith lots of short vectors, can the machine even get up to speed and then decelerate in the alotted time, or is a slower speed and less velocity better than instant gratification? :) thanks-- Jack

sparkgirl
Model of CNC Machine: modified 80/20 frame PracticalCNC build

velocity speeds and settings

Post by sparkgirl »

In Response To--"wonder if anyone else can shed some insight into the effects of changing the settings in the WinCNC.ini file."