Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro

Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

Postby ronald44181000 » Mon May 13, 2019 3:57 am

Has anyone ever attempted to add a Birdsmouth Form Tool to their database? Whenever I attempt to add my 5/8" 45 Degree Birdsmouth Bit to my Tool Database I end up with nothing more than a 45 Degree V-Bit. When in fact the actual bit is nothing more than a V-Bit on its side. When creating the necessary Profile using a Vector, one is only allowed to enter the Lower portion of the Design Vector and it will not accept the Upper Portion as being relevant. I'm wanting to use the Birdsmouth Bit to create Splines on Pool Cues.
ronald44181000
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:18 pm
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: 4 Azis CNC Router

Re: Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

Postby Rcnewcomb » Mon May 13, 2019 5:57 am

The upper portion of a bird's mouth bit tapers in to form an undercut similar to a dovetail bit. Vectric software does not model bits with undercuts. Think of it as seen from above and making a plunge movement. Only the V portion would be evident from that perspective.
Image
- Randall Newcomb
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

Postby ronald44181000 » Mon May 13, 2019 2:00 pm

So in essence, it is impossible to add this tool bit to Vcarve. I guess I'll just have to manually define the GCode to create a Tool Path.
ronald44181000
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:18 pm
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: 4 Azis CNC Router

Re: Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

Postby Adrian » Mon May 13, 2019 2:47 pm

You can create the toolpath in VCarve by setting a "dummy" tool up with the correct feed rates etc. It's how keyholes and other such toolpaths are done. An endmill is defined and the toolpath created using them and on the machine the correct tool is used instead.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9287
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

Postby ronald44181000 » Mon May 13, 2019 6:13 pm

To correctly do this Dummy, I take it that I would have to in someway create a cut with an Offset? I'm probably overthinking it, but that is what I tend to do.
ronald44181000
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:18 pm
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: 4 Azis CNC Router

Re: Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

Postby Rcnewcomb » Mon May 13, 2019 6:40 pm

I'd probably define it as an Engraving tool with the following parameters (using the example bit in my previous bit).
Afterward, to use it I'd create a vector offset the correct distance (whatever that is) from the edge you want to cut and then use profile ON the vector.
BirdsMouth.PNG
- Randall Newcomb
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: Adding a Birdsmouth Form Tool

Postby IslaWW » Mon May 13, 2019 8:28 pm

IF you are going to use it from the side (my assumption), simply define the tool as an endmill that is the large diameter of the tool. Set a line with returns out beyond the surface and do a simple profile, in this case left/climb to start at the surface and increase in depth

Side Cut.PNG
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine


Return to VCarve - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests