Cutting a flute or grove in the sidee of project

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

Cutting a flute or grove in the sidee of project

Postby disneyfan1974 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:40 pm

I am using Aspire 9.5 with an upgraded Black Diamond Shark CNC. Is there anyway to cut a flute or grove in the side of a project with a side cutting bit? I do it now with my table router but it is a pain to set up and get an accurate cut. Any advice would be appreciated.
disneyfan1974
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Black Diamond Shark

Re: Cutting a flute or grove in the sidee of project

Postby Adrian » Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:47 pm

You can certainly do it but you have to use leads in the toolpath or create the vectors to lead in and out. You won't be able to preview it as Vectric software doesn't support undercuts.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Cutting a flute or grove in the sidee of project

Postby disneyfan1974 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:02 pm

Thanks, I will give it a try. I hadn't thought of it that way.
disneyfan1974
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Black Diamond Shark

Re: Cutting a flute or grove in the sidee of project

Postby Tailmaker » Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:22 am

This kind of a groove....tool path with VcarvePro and, as mentioned using lead-in and lead-out and leaving a little wood at the 4 corners as to not have the lid flying when finished.
https://youtu.be/hYZq2TecYB4
Using a thin kerf circular saw blade mounted on a 1/2" arbor.
Tailmaker
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:40 am
Location: Pasadena, CA
Model of CNC Machine: Home Built 4-axis Router


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests