SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby Xxray » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:26 am

Acquired this terrible jagged model, never encountered this scenario. Tried smoothing but that just smoothed the details of the actual model [which is an eagle] and did little for the edges. This came from an stl, I tried reconverting it a few times experimenting with the plane level, turns out equally bad no matter what I do. So how would one go about smoothing the jagged edges of an existing model ?
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-06-04 01.09.jpg
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1930
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby scottp55 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:46 pm

Doug,
Was your resolution in your set up set at 50X before you imported it?
Doesn't do any good to change it to Max Res After it's imported....
Is material set up size just slightly larger than is needed?
May just be a bad model...just checking.
scott
scott
User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP9.5

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:37 pm

There are a number of techniques to reduce/repair jaggie edges. Without working with the actual model myself, it's hard to say which technique (or more likely, a combination of techniques) would be used.

That being said, I was part of a thread awhile back that used a lot of techniques to clean up a trimmed model's edges. Not quite the same situation you have, but many of the techniques described/used are applicable for your case, too.

Here is the link that I hope you will find helpful:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=27402&p=197502&hilit=fish#p197502
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby Xxray » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:37 pm

scottp55 wrote:Doug,
Was your resolution in your set up set at 50X before you imported it?
Doesn't do any good to change it to Max Res After it's imported....
Is material set up size just slightly larger than is needed?
May just be a bad model...just checking.
scott



Didn't alter res at all. Stls seem to be always ridiculously large, had a Z of 17" or something like that and a huge x/y. They were lockied to eachother, once I reduced the Z to 1", the x/y came own to a reasonable size as well and thats it, I imported it.
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1930
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby scottp55 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:48 pm

Sorry Doug,
Meant Job Setup resolution setting BEFORE you Imported it;
job set up resolution.jpg


CAN make a real difference.
http://support.vectric.com/tips-and-tricks/selectedvideo.php?video_id=10

scott
scott
User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP9.5

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby Xxray » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:58 pm

scottp55 wrote:Sorry Doug,
Meant Job Setup resolution setting BEFORE you Imported it;
job set up resolution.jpg


CAN make a real difference.
http://support.vectric.com/tips-and-tricks/selectedvideo.php?video_id=10

scott


I have it set to high, sure don't see an option for 50x in my version. Very high is an option, I'll give that a shot.
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1930
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:00 pm

Xxray wrote:
scottp55 wrote:Sorry Doug,
Meant Job Setup resolution setting BEFORE you Imported it;
job set up resolution.jpg


CAN make a real difference.
http://support.vectric.com/tips-and-tricks/selectedvideo.php?video_id=10

scott


I have it set to high, sure don't see an option for 50x in my version. Very high is an option, I'll give that a shot.


I KNOW you know this, Doug! Hold the "Shift" key when starting a new file. Then the other two higher resolution settings will be included in the resolution drop down menu in the Job Setup.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:10 pm

Also, please do visit the link I referenced above. Some info there you might find handy for repairing the jaggies (maybe you already have):
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=27402&p=197502&hilit=fish#p197502

...and...in case you ever need it...

Here is a link to instructions for using the free MeshLab program to easily and quickly reduce (remesh) STL file size without a noticeable loss of quality. (These are similar to instructions I have previously posted here on the Vectric Forum somewhere.) Just ignore the fact that some portions of the instructions are geared to CarveWright software owners - the overall procedure for anyone wishing to reduce STL file size cleanly, will apply to all:

Here is the link, which includes instructions and screenshots as part of the "how-to":

https://forum.carvewright.com/showthrea ... post258209
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby laflippin » Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:00 pm

Michael,
Thanks very much for providing that link to MeshLab--that is something I think I've also been needing in order to fill the (big) gap between STL's produced by my little Einscan 3D scanner and ready-for-prime time use within Aspire.
Lee
laflippin
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:07 pm
Location: Cambria, CA
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha FX, Axiom AR 8 Pro+

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby Xxray » Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:04 pm

Ok 50x res made no difference, might even look worse. Guess the model is flawed, I'll look into your links Mike thanks.
Attachments
Screednshot 2019-06-04 16.06.jpg
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1930
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby mtylerfl » Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:42 am

Lee,

I’m glad that MeshLab link will be helpful for you.



Doug,

I’ll fix the edges (or at least try my best) on that STL if you want me to. PM me a download link, if desired.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: SMoothing the edges of a jagged model

Postby BradyWatson » Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:22 am

The model isn't flawed... it's just how Aspire represents 3d. There's an icon next to the resolution drop down that looks like a Rubik's cube...3d components are represented using voxels, or 3d pixels. No matter how much resolution you choose, there's always a stair stepped edge just like a bitmap.

Ignore the stair steps and wrap a vector to it, then clean up the vector. The profile pass will clean the edge. Since there is always a disparity between 2d vectors and 3d components/toolpaths, simply using a little negative allowance on that vector/profile pass will shave off the ledge.
High Definition 3D Laser Scanning www.IBILD.com
User avatar
BradyWatson
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: South Jersey, USA


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests