where to put textures

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

where to put textures

Postby Xxray » Mon Jun 03, 2019 5:49 am

have some texture bmp I would like to add to aspire, have done it before but I been tearing through folders and am unable to figure ouit where to put them - am using 8.5 windows 10
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: where to put textures

Postby Adrian » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:22 am

I put mine in Public Document\Vectric Files\Material Images
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: where to put textures

Postby martin54 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 11:52 am

What do you want to do with them? If it is just for visual purposes then you can save them in the material images folders as Adrian has said.
If they are ones you want to be able to machine then you would need to save them as 3Dclip files first I believe. That is what I have done in the past at least :lol: :lol:
I exported them as 3dclip files & then added them to the non tileable textures folder within the clipart.
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4620
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: where to put textures

Postby Xxray » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:59 am

martin54 wrote:What do you want to do with them? If it is just for visual purposes then you can save them in the material images folders as Adrian has said.
If they are ones you want to be able to machine then you would need to save them as 3Dclip files first I believe. That is what I have done in the past at least :lol: :lol:
I exported them as 3dclip files & then added them to the non tileable textures folder within the clipart.



Ok I'm a tard, how do you export as 3dclip, I don't see the option. I'm showing eps, dfx,ai and and svg.
Doug
User avatar
Xxray
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:47 am
Location: MI USA
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger 1

Re: where to put textures

Postby Adrian » Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:29 am

3Dclip is an export format for models and you access it by right clicking on a model in the Component tree.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: where to put textures

Postby Rcnewcomb » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:53 pm

The 3Dclip format is one of those hidden gems in Aspire. Saving your 3D textures is a good idea. I also convert my STL files to 3Dclip format. This makes them much easier to work with since the 3Dclip format works and plays well with the clipart tab for organizing 3D clip art.
- Randall Newcomb
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3544
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: where to put textures

Postby martin54 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:59 pm

Rcnewcomb wrote:The 3Dclip format is one of those hidden gems in Aspire. Saving your 3D textures is a good idea. I also convert my STL files to 3Dclip format. This makes them much easier to work with since the 3Dclip format works and plays well with the clipart tab for organizing 3D clip art.


Never thought about converting STL files, thanks Randall :lol: :lol: Converting them to 3D clip files means they will show up as thumbnails in the clipart folder, something that would be quite handy :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4620
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests