3D model toolpath question?

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

3D model toolpath question?

Postby rwebcon » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:30 pm

I have a plaque model I’m working on taken from my clipart. I like the model but have one problem when creating a 3D finishing toolpath. The toolpath cut across the entire model when all I really want is the border to be cut. I have run the toolpath and it cuts air until it gets to the border! Any way to only cut the border and not the entire surface since there is nothing to remove except the border material?
Sample file included.
Attachments
Test Plaque.crv3d
My 3D File
(1.36 MiB) Downloaded 49 times
rwebcon
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6

Re: 3D model toolpath question?

Postby Rcnewcomb » Sat Feb 23, 2019 12:04 am

Create vectors that control where the 3D toolpath goes. The easiest way to create these is to highlight the 3D component and use the Trace Bitmap tool on the drawing tab. (Some people say it looks like a chicken).
Vect01.JPG


When you generate the toolpath be sure that the machining limit boundary is set to Selected Vectors.
Vect03.JPG


I'd also recommend a stepover <10% for the ballnose bit. You could probably use a 1/2" ballnose bit and have it machine faster and with better results.
Attachments
Test PlaqueV2.crv3d
(1.2 MiB) Downloaded 37 times
- Randall Newcomb
User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3505
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC

Re: 3D model toolpath question?

Postby garylmast » Sat Feb 23, 2019 12:08 am

Select the component and do a Trace Bitmap. Select the colors to fit the desired area you want to create the vectors. In the Toolpath section, Machining Limit Boundary, select the the two vectors you want to machine. When you create the vectors from the trace bitmap, it will group them, so hit "U" to ungroup them.

Gary

Looks like Randall was a little quicker then me with the post.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture2.JPG
garylmast
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: 3D model toolpath question?

Postby rwebcon » Sat Feb 23, 2019 2:55 am

Thanks, I will give it a try...
rwebcon
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6

Re: 3D model toolpath question?

Postby rwebcon » Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:28 am

I got the trace bit map to outline the frame part but It still see the center section which I can not delete.
Attachments
Trace.crv3d
My trace
(2.41 MiB) Downloaded 40 times
rwebcon
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6

Re: 3D model toolpath question?

Postby Adrian » Sat Feb 23, 2019 10:15 am

Edit the toolpath, change it from Material Boundary to Selected Vectors in the Machining Limit Boundary section. Now click to select the outside vector then hold down the shift key to select the inside vector. Now click Calculate and you should be good to go.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9365
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: 3D model toolpath question?

Postby rwebcon » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:18 pm

That Got it. There are so many options I have never had the opportuning to use this one. Thanks again to everyone for your help....
rwebcon
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Pro 6


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests