Workpiece Offsets

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

Workpiece Offsets

Postby TReischl » Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:48 pm

I added a small laser module to my machine some time ago. It is mounted offset of the spindle.

The issue is running jobs that use both the router and the laser in addition to setting zero for the laser. I use Ger21's Screenset 2010 which allows the use of a laser pointer (this is not the laser cutter) to set a zero and adjust for the offsets between it and the spindle.

By running the spindle and then jogging around I finally figured out the relationship between the router spindle and the laser beam.

What I had been doing was to set zero for the router and then move the laser over to that zero and reset zero. Back and forth, too much fiddling around.

I would bet that most of us rarely used work piece offsets. Well, we did, but just the default one, G54. That is what I was doing. It finally occurred to me that all I really needed to do was enter the zero for the laser beam into G55. After setting zero for the router I just use windows calculator to get the new numbers for the G55 position.

The next step was to modify the post processors. The router post has a G54 call in it at the very beginning. It looks like this:

+---------------------------------------------------
+ Commands output at the start of the file
+---------------------------------------------------

begin HEADER

"M5"
"G00G20G17G90G40G49G80"
"G70G91.1"
"G94"
"G54"
"G0X0Y0"
"M3"


I did the same thing with the laser post but entered G55 instead of G54.

Now the machine adjusts the zero automatically for the laser. If I go back to routing no need to fiddle around selecting G54, the code does it for me.

This was a little different than what work piece offsets are normally used for so I thought I would post it. Hope it helps other folks out!
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: Workpiece Offsets

Postby highpockets » Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:01 pm

WOW! Great tip Ted!!!

Thanks for sharing....
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2262
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Workpiece Offsets

Postby rscrawford » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:16 pm

Great idea Ted!
Russell Crawford
http://www.cherryleaf-rustle.com
User avatar
rscrawford
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Cobra 408 ATC with recoil

Re: Workpiece Offsets

Postby Mobius » Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:13 pm

Awesome. I've got a laser enroute for my CNC right now, so this will come in handy!
Connor Bredin
Distinctive Dimensional Concepts Ltd.
www.distinctive-concepts.ca
Mobius
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 1:19 am
Location: Drumheller, Alberta, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: CRP Pro 4848 Custom Build

Re: Workpiece Offsets

Postby chri879 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:17 pm

Great tip, thank you for sharing!
chri879
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Redlands, CA
Model of CNC Machine: CNCRP PRO48X48

Re: Workpiece Offsets

Postby dwilli9013 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 10:30 pm

Always thinking Ted. Thanks for the tip. :lol: :lol: :lol:
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli
User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Location: Machesney Park Illinois
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests