Page 1 of 1

Trying to combine two models

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:38 pm
by pmazz850
Hi all,
I have a 3d model i'm trying to combine with another, but i can't get it to work correctly. The material is 1.5 thick, the 3d model has a thickness of 1, so model is at the top of the material, with a .5 base. Then i create a simple 3d model of a square i want attached under it. The square section i only want to be 1 inch thick.. No matter how i try to combine them, the model height i set for the square part, affects the height of the first 3d model. I must be missing something. How can i add the second part without changing the other?

Thanks

Re: Trying to combine two models

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:58 pm
by pmazz850
Well i just figured it out. I had to go into each model properties after creating the second model, and adjust the height. Now i need to figure out how to remove the overlapping piece of the model..

Re: Trying to combine two models

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 4:42 pm
by mezalick
Set the components property to "Merge",,,That will get rid of the over lap...but you'll need to adjust the component model height as needed.
Michael

Re: Trying to combine two models

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:48 pm
by pmazz850
Thank you Michael. I got it sorted out. Is there an easy way to not have the lower part of the model 3d carved? I will have it the correct height for that material before hand. But the upper part will have the extra material for the model height. I have tried two separate boundry vectors, but it still goes past this and carves the lower part. I tried to upload a pic for you to see, but it's too large to upload.

Re: Trying to combine two models

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:11 pm
by pmazz850
Got that figured out now. I had to check a different box on the tool tab. All good now.