Vectric forum locking up

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

Vectric forum locking up

Postby Phil » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:18 pm

For the past few weeks this forum has been locking up randomly. I don't have this issue with other sites that I visit. I'm wondering if the problem is with the forum or with my computer.

Phil
User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby ger21 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:01 pm

I was starting to think it was Comcast, or my new modem, but it's been fine for the last few days. But it's been really bad for me for the last month.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby highpockets » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:12 pm

Phil, Gerry, are both of you using Comcast?

I'm on Comcast. I have been experiencing the problem of the connection to Vectric timing out for the past month. If I tether to my phone through AT&T I can access Vectric no problem. I too have no issues with the rest of the web, just Vectric.

I contacted Vectric support back in March and Mark has tried figuring out the problem, so far it's been spotty access. Been good for the past couple of days.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby ger21 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:26 pm

I thought it was Comcast, because we also have Comcast business at work, and last week I couldn't access the forum at all from my work PC.
At Home it seems to always connect when I first visit, then become unavailable after clicking a few links. It then would usually not work for 30-60 minutes, then start working again.
For me, it happens here, and to a lesser extent, the UCCNC forum. No other sites are affected.

And yes, it always worked on my phone (Verizon via XFinity Mobile).

But this week it's working fine.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby SteveNelson46 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:45 pm

I'm on Cox and having the same problem. I sent Vectric support an email and they responded with "no one else has reported the problem." After about 30 minutes or so the problem seems to resolve itself. In the meantime, I cannot access any vectric site but have no problem with any other sites. I use Firefox primarily but It happens in Microsoft Edge and Internet explorer also.

The problem has not occurred since flushing the DNS cache on my Windows 10 machine but I'm not convinced that was the problem.

Using an elevated command prompt type:
ipconfig /flushdns
Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Carvewright

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby larrybadgett » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:05 pm

It's not just Comcast or Cox!
Woodchip
Wud Bi Tek
http://wudbitek.com/
User avatar
larrybadgett
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Corning, Iowa USA
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby Leo » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:08 pm

I have Comcast at home, and we have a T1 line or something like that at work.

I don't have a problem either way.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby highpockets » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:21 pm

I know it's not all of Comcast, a friend of mine has Comcast Business also, but a different IP Class A and his works just fine.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby adze_cnc » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:35 pm

Do you have an "ad blocking" (AdBlock, UBlock, etc) plugin installed in your browser? If so, try disabling it for the forum site.
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby highpockets » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:44 pm

adze_cnc wrote:Do you have an "ad blocking" (AdBlock, UBlock, etc) plugin installed in your browser? If so, try disabling it for the forum site.


Thanks, tried that. I use Firefox, but my installation of Microsoft Edge has no plugins. When I get the connection time out it doesn't matter what browser I'm using. I've also run a Trace Route and the route is dying on the connection to the Vectric server.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby adze_cnc » Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:13 pm

I had a problem with the Vectric forum (and only it) occasionally taking far too long to load a page. I thought I had solved it via disabling ad-blocking but I think it was something else.

Thinking on it, I suspect I solved it by disabling the browser's "page pre-fetch" setting. Chrome based browsers typically call it "Use a prediction service to load pages more quickly" in Microsoft of Edge it says "Use page prediction...".

In Edge it is found in the "Advanced Settings" panel found via the "Settings" panel found by clicking the "..." to the right of the URL bar. In my Chrome-based browser it is found in "Blink engine settings".

Steven
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby ger21 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:46 pm

If it were a browser setting, it wouldn't be so random. It can work fine for 30 minutes, and then not work at all for 30 minutes, then work fine again.
Gerry
ger21
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby ChrisInEstes » Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:53 pm

No trouble noticed here. I use a small town mom & pop ISP, Internet Explorer 11, Windows 7 Pro 32

Chris
Aspire 8.5 - PhotoVCarve - FlexiEXPERT 11
User avatar
ChrisInEstes
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:00 pm
Location: Estes Park, Colorado, USA
Model of CNC Machine: Vytek 4' X 8' - Perske Spindle - Mach3

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby Bob Reda » Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:31 am

Noticing the same thing myself, I have comcast, but like others said,not affecting anything else

Bob
Bob Reda
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Monessen, Pa
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot 48x48 upgraded prt

Re: Vectric forum locking up

Postby Mobius » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:31 am

I have also noticed this. Not on Comcast, using the latest version of Firefox, on Windows 10. Site will go unresponsive for awhile, then when I check back later it is working again.
Connor Bredin
Distinctive Dimensional Concepts Ltd.
www.distinctive-concepts.ca
Mobius
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 1:19 am
Location: Drumheller, Alberta, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: CRP Pro 4848 Custom Build

Next

Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests