How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

Postby rowka » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:47 am

Hello,
Please have a look at the picture of a guitar I have modeled in Rhino. There is a feature called a belly-cut (or tummy-cut) that is relatively straight forward to do with a 2-rail sweep when I have access to put one of the rails on the side of the guitar body and one on the back. Since the rails are offset in the X, Y, AND Z axis, the resultant surface varies in pitch, or steepness, along its length. Additionally, I am able to control the max depth (1 inch in this case) and the location where that max depth occurs.

Is there a way to create such a feature in Aspire?

Image
rowka
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:20 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model of CNC Machine: Romaxx WD-1

Re: How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:25 am

Yes, you can model that in Aspire.

But, if you have Rhino and are already comfortable with it, just save your model as STL or OBJ and import it into Aspire for toolpathing.

Nothing wrong with using a variety of software products to achieve your goals.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

Postby rowka » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:41 am

Yes, of course I can build this feature in Rhino and then import it into Aspire.

Maybe it's just as easy, or easier, to do in Aspire directly (since, that is where the final model and tool-path creation will exist).

Maybe it's easier to do in Rhino. I don't know. I just know that I don't know how to do it in Aspire.
rowka
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:20 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Model of CNC Machine: Romaxx WD-1

Re: How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

Postby highpockets » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:46 am

Sorry for it being so crude, but it looks like with the profile and some molding toolpaths it you could do the job with out having to cut the entire body from a model.

Image 045.png


The other thing you could do is save the model in a .stl file, import it into Aspire then create a vector boundary then offset (inward) a copy that would incorporate all the areas that are milled, select both vectors then use the roughing and finishing toolpaths with Selected Vectors option. This would also cut down on machining time.

Hope this makes since.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

Postby highpockets » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:47 am

You can also use two rail sweep in Aspire with multiple vector cross sections to control the shape of the curve in all three dimensions.
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

Postby Leo » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:41 pm

You can use your Rhino model (I would) and draw boundaries in Aspire to 3D cut the specific areas that need 3D cutting. The flat part of the back can be 2D cutting, which is far more efficient. You will need to do some sanding to blend, but it should be minimal.

Setting the cut heights to blend will be the more critical challenge.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: How do I creat this 3D feature in Aspire 9.0?

Postby adze_cnc » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:46 pm

Rather than exporting the Rhino model as OBJ or STL using a native 3DM file exported as Rhino version 4 (unless version 9 Aspire imports Rhino ver 5 models natively) tends to be a better import format (you might have to do a "join" on the surfaces first)
User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests