Toolpath created boarder.

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

Toolpath created boarder.

Postby grahamd » Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:52 am

Good day to all,
I am cutting 3d probe files of instrument tops and backs. The slightly recessed boarder that the toolpath function puts on the edge of the cut is a major problem. Is there a way to create a toolpath that does not do this without cutting to the edge of the material?
Thank you, Graham
grahamd
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Location: Lewisville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Postby Adrian » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:06 am

Have you added a Zero Plane to your project?
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Toolpath created border.

Postby grahamd » Sat Jul 22, 2017 12:25 pm

Yes. On the inside, top or back of a mandolin, zero is at the surface, top, of the material. I am trying to get a cut that removes the concavity and leaves the remainder of the wood as is. If I cut just the concavity there is that slightly recessed border cut around the perimeter, If I cut to the edge of the model, there is the slight border cut around the perimeter. That slight border cut is what I am trying to get rid of. The only way I have found to get what I want is to cut to the edge of the material. Takes much longer.
Thanks, Graham
grahamd
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Location: Lewisville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Postby Adrian » Sat Jul 22, 2017 12:42 pm

This is the explanation I was remembering - viewtopic.php?f=28&t=6474 - it pre-dates the Zero Plane function (it's created manually in the explanation) but the logic is still true.

Have you got a value in the Boundary Offset part of the finishing toolpath? That should be the radius of the ball nose.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Postby grahamd » Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:13 pm

Yes. Offset .25.
grahamd
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Location: Lewisville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Postby grahamd » Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:24 pm

Very good post you sent. Guess what I am trying to do is eliminate the boundary.
grahamd
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Location: Lewisville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32

Re: Toolpath created boarder.

Postby grahamd » Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:31 pm

Think I may have realized an error I made. Will generate a toolpath and see. Thank you Adrian.
grahamd
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:56 pm
Location: Lewisville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: shopbot buddy 32


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests