Using a pen as tool

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

Using a pen as tool

Postby volkhard » Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:57 pm

After searching the forum I couldn't find the answer. Here my question:

Can I set up a tool with 0 rpm? I want to create a pen-holder which will be held in the spindle. Of course, the spindle should not rotate! Z axes is also not needed. Simple X/Y plotter function. Is that possible without too much workaround?

Thanks for any suggestions.
Legacy Maverick
Mach 3
Aspire V9
Sunny Florida
User avatar
volkhard
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Legacy Maverick

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby PaulRowntree » Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:02 pm

I expect that you have an overide to prevent the spindle from turning. In any event, you will probably want to have a spring-loaded pen holder.
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby dwilli9013 » Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:08 pm

if a pen holder is fabricated to chuck into the spindle an allows the pen to be set at an angle that puts it back on center then one would not need to lock the spindle down. The design of the adapter would be similar to a drag knife. Spring loading the rig could be accomplished via the adapter shank you chuck up. Do a search on 3d printer pen adapters on google lots of info and techniques available.
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli
User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Location: Machesney Park Illinois
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby Pete Cyr » Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:56 pm

http://cosmos-industrial.com/index.php? ... ex&cPath=3
This guy makes what you want.

You can make a post processor to disable the spindle rotation (remove M3). Just copy one and edit it. You have to rename it inside the file as well (use notepad). If you have a router, just don't turn it on.
Pete Cyr
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 4:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby Adrian » Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:08 am

Not sure about other machines but on a ShopBot if you have 0 rpm in the tool definition then it doesn't turn the spindle on.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 7404
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby Leo » Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:13 pm

You will most definately need to use "Z" axis as well as "X" & "Y".

Pen Plotters as used in so many engineering offices, when pen plotters were all the rage, all used X-Y-Z to make engineering drawings. The pen always held perpendicular to the paper. Spring mounted for sure.

Definately a DOABLE thing to do.

Also - look into drafting pens. Felt pens worked also but wore out really fast.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2417
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby D.A.S.Ontario » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:15 pm

I made a tool that is spring loaded, and will hold a pencil lead, a dremel diamond or carbide engraving tip. I have used it on glass, almost all metals, stone, and paper. my next attempt will be to adapt to a tip from a dollar store box cutter blade tip. you can have a look here, scroll to the bottom of the page. some of my attempts did not work very well. By the way the pencil lead is the type draftsmen used it is almost 1/8" dia and fits my spring loaded device. I also manually "0" my Z with a cigarette paper which is about .001 or so. You can view my attempts by clicking here ,
http://www.theschneiders.ca/cnc.html remember, scroll down,
D.A.S.Ontario
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 1:29 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Desktop

Using a pen as tool

Postby Bobtail Farm » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:47 pm

1/2" od aluminum tube to fit collet. pen selected for parallel sides of barrel and sliding fit inside tube. spring above for pressure to tip and o-ring to keep it from sliding out completely on "safe moves". Hat tip to Brian Oltragge (Grunblau design).
Attachments
IMG_5021 CNC Pen.jpg
Bobtail Farm
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby mtylerfl » Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:11 pm

Adrian wrote:Not sure about other machines but on a ShopBot if you have 0 rpm in the tool definition then it doesn't turn the spindle on.


I didn't know that. Thanks, Adrian! I'll use that sometime.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby D.A.S.Ontario » Sat Jul 08, 2017 4:30 pm

On my ShopBot Desk top, the spindle speed is controlled manually not by the tool data base or by the shopbot software, there is a knob on the controller and a on/off switch, that's it.
I like the idea of the aluminum tubing, pen, spring, "O" ring idea, cool, keep things simple, good thinking.
D.A.S.Ontario
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 1:29 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Desktop

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby Sk8nmike » Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:59 pm

Printed Pen holder or you can machine it. Works great

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1765757
Sk8nmike
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD and Multicam

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby Martin Reid » Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:53 pm

Sorry guys I couldn't help it.

Bought 6 pens for £1.00 because they have 1/2" rubber barrels. With few modifications to reverse the spring to make the tip spring loaded (CNC Pen.pdf attached for those interested)

Adrian - Older versions of Partworks / VCarve, the tool database will not let you set the spindle speed to zero - You are correct that latest version does.

Tried it out today, works a treat.

Sincerely and in good faith
Martin Reid
Attachments
DSCI1587a.JPG
CNC Pen.pdf
(1.44 MiB) Downloaded 52 times
User avatar
Martin Reid
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 6:00 pm
Location: Lancashire UK
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby volkhard » Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:49 am

Thanks for all the suggestions and hints.

For me it is less about the tool (-holder) as I want to experiment with more than just a plotter-pen setup. And while I am away from my machine I can't just do the try and error approach.

My thought (or question) : What happens if I set up a new tool in my library and put the spindle speed to 0 rpm? Would that still turn the spindle or not?

If not, that would be the best way to do it. The other approaches (changing the post-processor etc) might be more "dangerous" if forgotten. If a tool is named and setup accordingly (0 rpm) the spindle would never turn if this tool is applied. Does that makes sense?
Legacy Maverick
Mach 3
Aspire V9
Sunny Florida
User avatar
volkhard
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: Florida
Model of CNC Machine: Legacy Maverick

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby IslaWW » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:03 am

In most cases the best solution could be making a separate postP for the pen or drag knife that does not turn the spindle on. Simply make a copy of the post that you currently use and remove the spindle on command from the header and new segment sections. There is postP editing info under the help menu.

With many Gcode machines the spindle on macro is "M3". with ShopBot it would be "SO,1,1" or "C6". Your mileage may vary. The reason I say this is that some VFD's are programmed with a minimum rpm and in those cases zero rpm wont work.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
Control & ATC Retrofits
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com
User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Model of CNC Machine: SideWinder ATC & CNC Mill on WinCNC

Re: Using a pen as tool

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:19 pm

Can you just unplug the power to your spindle?
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2445
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Next

Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests