Page 1 of 1

Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:14 pm
by DLWOODWORKS
Ok, different situation. I'm using Aspire to get some accurate angles for a miter cut on a project. I've attached a picture showing large size image and another picture showing what I'm trying to do.

The line that goes off at an odd angle is the one I'm trying to find the angle of. I'd like to get the angle from the horizontal and vertical positions. These are the angles I need to cut. I think I can get the angles in Sketchup, but was wondering if Aspire offered a way to find the angles.

Thank you,

Re: Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:30 pm
by Dclifton2
Just go to dimensions and pick angle dimensions. Also when you draw the line it tells you the angle.
Hope this helps
Donald Clifton

Re: Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:34 pm
by Dclifton2
You can also use measure and inspect to find the angle.
Don

Re: Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 9:52 pm
by DLWOODWORKS
Thank you guys!

Is there a way to check the angle of a line in reference to another line, like using the protractor tool in Sketchup?

Re: Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:33 pm
by Dclifton2
Yes by using measure and inspect you can find the angle of one line to anouther.
Don

Re: Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 2:21 pm
by Frunple
Dclifton2 wrote:Yes by using measure and inspect you can find the angle of one line to anouther.
Don


I don't think that's true unless you know something I don't. (entirely possible of course.)
Not automatically anyway, you can get the angle of each line and then do the math yourself.
Maybe that's what you mean?

Please explain how.

Re: Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:11 pm
by Dclifton2
You just run down one line past the apex of the other line and back up the other line.
Don

Re: Finding angle of a line

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:19 pm
by Dclifton2
No, I think your right. yesterday when I tried it I thought it worked but I guess not. well something else Vectric can add.
Don