Changing start points

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

Changing start points

Postby Gropen cnc » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:03 pm

Hello Vectric peeps. Is there a way to change all of the start points at the same time? We used ArtCAM Pro before upgrading to Aspire and I really miss that function. Nesting small pieces is a pain w/o it.
Any knowledge of and/or handy ways around it? I understand about array, but I tend to route letters and numbers. Thanks,

Darrell
Gropen cnc
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:48 pm
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4010

Re: Changing start points

Postby mtylerfl » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:22 pm

Hi Darrell,

I assume you mean "machining order" not "start points" as in vector start point nodes. If so, then page 203 and 204 in your Aspire manual might be helpful (vector selection order/machining order). I hope it will.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Changing start points

Postby Gropen cnc » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:12 pm

No, I mean start points, similar to the Datum Position setting in Aspire.
Gropen cnc
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:48 pm
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4010

Re: Changing start points

Postby mtylerfl » Tue Feb 23, 2016 3:07 pm

Gropen cnc wrote:No, I mean start points, similar to the Datum Position setting in Aspire.


I guess I'm not understanding what your goal/request is exactly. Perhaps someone else does and can chime in with some helpful suggestion(s).
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC
User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Brunswick, GA
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Changing start points

Postby Gropen cnc » Tue Feb 23, 2016 4:45 pm

Here's an example: I'm nesting a set of letters to spell "Vectric Aspire" for a sign. The artist creates the vectors and I import them to nest/set up for routing. The vectors have random start point nodes that I have to manually change in order to get consistent start points on the material (I like to use the lower right corner of the nested vector). When there are hundreds of vectors, it takes quite a bit of time. ArtCam Pro had an option of changing the start points to upper/lower, right/left, center. Aspire doesn't seem to have this function. If anyone knows a way to perform this or alternative ways to accomplish this, I would appreciate them sharing. The designers get so swamped, that going back and altering existing jobs isn't an option.
Thanks

Darrell
Gropen cnc
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:48 pm
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4010

Re: Changing start points

Postby joeporter » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:04 pm

Do you have the option to show advanced toolpath features checked at the top of the profile toolpath set up guide?...joe
joeporter
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: Marietta, GA.
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Buddy Standard

Re: Changing start points

Postby Gropen cnc » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:30 pm

Yes, I do. I've tried the various Order options, but they seem to focus on the shortest path, when our bed works best when the job runs from the lower left corner of the bed to the upper right corner. Otherwise, the material begins to jump and get bit bites. Optimize hasn't been useful, either.
Gropen cnc
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:48 pm
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4010

Re: Changing start points

Postby PaulRowntree » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:05 am

There is a free gadget called GreenSquares that can be used to flip selected vectors ... it is especially made for working with hundreds or thousands of vectros that have somehow gotten their start points randomized.

Item 6 on the list, manual shows how it works ... http://paulrowntree.weebly.com/gadgets.html
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com
PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)

Re: Changing start points

Postby Gropen cnc » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:44 pm

Thanks, I'll check it out.
Gropen cnc
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:48 pm
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4010


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests