How to use layers

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

How to use layers

Postby suzanneramsay » Tue Nov 24, 2015 5:11 pm

Could someone explain to me how layers work. How can I change the base height of a piece without changing the others?? Every piece is on a separate layer but I can't seem to find the proper way to do it
Your help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
suzanneramsay
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: Icarver 40-913

Re: How to use laygers

Postby Leo » Tue Nov 24, 2015 5:58 pm

Layers are like transparent sheets of paper in a binder. You can draw on one layer, say page 1. Flip page one so you don't see it then draw in page 2. Again on page 3 and so on.

When you put all the pages back you can see everything drawn on all the pages.

With layers you can turn them on or off like flipping pages.

There is nothing about base heights on layers.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com
User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2950
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254

Re: How to use laygers

Postby suzanneramsay » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:35 pm

Thanks Leo!
suzanneramsay
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: Icarver 40-913

Re: How to use laygers

Postby dealguy11 » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:34 pm

Suzanne -

I'm not sure we've answered your question yet. As Leo said, layers won't help you with this issue.

In general, the order of the components in the component tree and the individual combine modes will affect how changing the base height of a component changes the others. The components add to each other from the bottom of the list to the top. So, for example, if you have a .25 thick component as the last item on the list, and everything above it on the list has a combine mode of "add", then adding .125" of base height to the item at the end of the list will add .125" height to all the others sitting on top of it. If you move this item to the top of the list and change its combine mode to "merge", then changes to its base height will not affect anything below it on the list. You can change the order and combine modes of the components to get them in the relationship you want.
Steve Godding
D&S Artistic Woodworking http://www.dsartisticwood.com
User avatar
dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1438
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Henryville, PA
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: How to use layers

Postby Ms Wolffie » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:19 am

Thanks Steve,
I have never quite understood that before :D
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest