A different way to do a two rail sweep

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

A different way to do a two rail sweep

Postby M Queen » Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:23 am

I've decided to share a few videos I have made over the years. Hopefully they will give someone some ideas.

Here's are a couple of videos I did about a year ago. I used a two rail sweep to create a bowl.
It started as one video and was so long I decided to split it into two parts.

In the first part, I worked out my cross section.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvNNvR07psA

In the second part, I did my two rail sweep.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGq2CCO0oW0
Mike Queen
Microsystems World CNC (WinCNC)
https://www.youtube.com/user/cncMike304
M Queen
Vectric Apprentice
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:25 pm
Location: Buckhannon, WV, USA
Model of CNC Machine: WinCNC Hybrid

Re: A different way to do a two rail sweep

Postby TReischl » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:53 pm

Mike,

I am curious, do you see any advantage to doing it the way you show in the video?
http://www.tedreischl.com

Low Profile CNC Router Vise
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2495
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Leland NC
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset

Re: A different way to do a two rail sweep

Postby Mike-S » Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:35 pm

You can get the same result with two semi-circles touching at 0 and 180. The way you did it (full circles), it would be logical for the resulting model to be twice as thick as the third rail's geometry since it passes over itself a second time as it goes passed 180 and around to 360 deg. Vectric must have coded so as to prevent the additional Z height in cases like this.
Still, it's an interesting approach.
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 1083
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Location: Hayesville, NC
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stephenllanber and 5 guests