Importing 2D CAD Layers

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire

Importing 2D CAD Layers

Postby Charlie_l » Fri Oct 17, 2014 4:20 am

Should I be able to import a 2D CAD file, DWG and have the layers maintained through the import process. In other words, should I expect the 3 layers in CAD (DWG file) import to the same 3 layers within Aspire? Should I be converting to DXF first?
Aspire, CAMaster Stinger II
Charlie_l
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:41 am
Location: Wisconsin
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger II

Re: Importing 2D CAD Layers

Postby Adrian » Fri Oct 17, 2014 7:37 am

Yes, works for me with a DWG file. I was a little but surprised as I thought it wouldn't. The layers must exist in the Aspire file and be identical in name.

For the attached file I created two layers called Object and Center and put the letters on the relevant layer. I then imported a DWG file that had the same two layers (and others). Turning off the Object/Center layers turns off the Aspire created vectors and the DWG ones.
Attachments
dwg_test.crv3d
(101 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9489
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Importing 2D CAD Layers

Postby Charlie_l » Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:01 am

DXF seems to work a lot better, bringing in the layers without having to name them in Aspire first. Thanks for the help. Now I know what is needed.
Aspire, CAMaster Stinger II
Charlie_l
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:41 am
Location: Wisconsin
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Stinger II

Re: Importing 2D CAD Layers

Postby Adrian » Sun Oct 19, 2014 9:13 am

DWG will bring in the layers with the names as well without them pre-existing in Aspire.

From your original question I thought you were wanting to bring the layers in to existing ones within Aspire which is why I made the example that way.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9489
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48


Return to Aspire - Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests