Low Volume Vac. Work-holding

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
glenninvb
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: homebuild / VCP 8.0

Low Volume Vac. Work-holding

Post by glenninvb »

Although a complete newbie here,
Inspired by rscrawford's outstanding vacuum jigs, I thought I would start a thread on low vol. vac. work-holding and see where it goes.

With my long but limited machine shop experience, work holding can be the trickiest part of any job whether running a tooling center or just a homebuilt CNC router.
Especially those of us that don't have a three phase 20hp high volume vacuum system sucking through a spoil-board.

Even though I posted pic's before of my simple 20x20"x1" vac. grid before, its made from 1" King starboard. For anyone that does a lot of acrylic engraving it becomes very handy. the edge of material is always square to machine axis, just flip a switch and machine away. Its nice to engrave perfectly flat material without having to surface spoil board or table top.

Also once you have the main plenum or table (any size) you can fab jigs that sit on top from sealed MDF or Starboard and by using soft rubber cording like I use or flat gasket rubber, almost any part with flats can be positioned with repeatability.

For example I used a throwaway MDF jig that sat on top my plenum for inlaying multiple types of wood in clock faces and then to be able to put back and engrave at a later time. As it had no square edges the jig was handy.

The jigs need a way of being registered for placement whether pins, grids, guide strips or whatever, and of course the Starboard plenum and jigs can be machined flat when making or trued up when needed.

The only drawback to low volume vacuum is the part must make a fairly good seal to plenum or jig.

Here is a link for cut to size King starboard
http://www.boatoutfitters.com/cut-to-si ... -starboard

McMaster Carr
for round or flat gasket material

Very nice tables (I bought a very small one)