Machining small aluminum Braille plates

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Phil
Vectric Wizard

Machining small aluminum Braille plates

Post by Phil »

I've been asked to machine small (.125 x .5 x 2") aluminum plates. The finished product will be a plate with raised "Braille" bumps. I have no experience machining aluminum. I've read a few posts on this forum about machining aluminum but I haven't found something specific to this project.
I'd appreciate any advice and/ or warnings before I agree to the project. The aluminum is 6061.

Thanks,

Phil

adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Re: Machining small aluminum Braille plates

Post by adze_cnc »

My first thought was I wonder what kind of result could be had by using a centre-punch from the reverse side...

TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 48X36X7 RP 2022 UCCNC Screenset

Post by TReischl »

adze_cnc wrote:My first thought was I wonder what kind of result could be had by using a centre-punch from the reverse side...
Probably not much Steven, unless he spotted some divots on the back side and then gave them a whack. But I think he would need some kind of backer plate with dimples in it.

I am thinking just a model with the small spheres on it and then let it do a finish raster pass across the whole thing. Which brings up another question, what about a decent finish?

This might be one of those things that falls into the category of "Just because I can doesn't mean I should."
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Johns

Jim_in_PA
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger II SR-44 (MacOS user)

Post by Jim_in_PA »

A sign maker friend who does a lot of work work that requires Brail notation cuts a ball pocket and then glues tiny spheres into the pockets to raise the letters. He does this on a variety of materials, although he primarily works in Corian for these building/room signs.

highpockets
Vectric Wizard