V10 Tool Database

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire

V10 Tool Database

Postby SteveNelson46 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:01 pm

After upgrading Aspire from 9.5 to 10 I started playing around with the new tool database. I have to admit it was a bit confusing until I watched the video. I may have to watch it again a few more times as there are many new concepts but it sure cleared up a lot of questions.

https://www.vectric.com/support/tutoria ... ral_Topics
Steve
User avatar
SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Tucson, Az.
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger with Recoil Lathe

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby martin54 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:58 pm

My tool database was a bit of a mess the way I had it set up :lol: :lol:
The new Database should make it so much easier for me & be a lot less cluttered, I was going to import my old database & then sort things out but I think I will be better just starting from scratch again. Will take longer but hopefully once finished will be a lot neater :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4628
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby highpockets » Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:51 am

Martin, I'm with you. It's going to be a pain, but I'm going to start over from scratch. Figure that may be less of a pain. :D :D :D
John
Maker of Chips
User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby martin54 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 11:58 am

highpockets wrote:Martin, I'm with you. It's going to be a pain, but I'm going to start over from scratch. Figure that may be less of a pain. :D :D :D


If I sit with the old tool database open on my laptop & the new tool database open on the desktop it shouldn't be to difficult to just copy the data over from one to the other. When it comes to things like form tools I have all the right side profiles saved so I just need to open that file, Select them one at a time & copy the data from the old database. Shouldn't take to long I wouldn't have thought, just need to find the time :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4628
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby wb9tpg » Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:43 pm

highpockets wrote:Martin, I'm with you. It's going to be a pain, but I'm going to start over from scratch. Figure that may be less of a pain. :D :D :D


If you start over; I'd suggest importing the Amana Tool file they have for their bits.
wb9tpg
Vectric Craftsman
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby Adrian » Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:51 pm

Nice and easy for me. I only use 5 bits. :lol:

All those years ago when I first bought VCarve I spent hours and hours entering every type of bit I owned at the time.
User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
 
Posts: 9594
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby Phil » Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:00 pm

The Tool Database in Aspire 10 has an option to upload the Tool Database to a server, this was designed to simplify sharing the database among computers.

Phil
Attachments
Tool Database.PNG
User avatar
Phil
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Pittsfield, MA

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby martin54 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 8:28 pm

Phil wrote:The Tool Database in Aspire 10 has an option to upload the Tool Database to a server, this was designed to simplify sharing the database among computers.

Phil


Yes but I need to get it straight on one computer first Phil :lol: :lol: :lol: If you had seen my Database you would understand why I have started from scratch :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

It's not difficult, will just take a bit of time, I just need to copy the info from all the extra folders I created in my old database to their new locations in the various material & machine sections on the new one. :lol:
User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 4628
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Crossgates, Scotland
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)

Re: V10 Tool Database

Postby ohiolyons » Sat Sep 21, 2019 11:41 am

Version 10.011 resolved the problem, thanks Vectric!!!!!!
John
CNC in Kettering, Ohio
ohiolyons
Vectric Wizard
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:16 pm
Location: Kettering, Ohio
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna IQ HHC, 3HP


Return to Aspire - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests